SPECIAL COMMITTEE ON TRAFFIC SAFETY Wednesday, May 22, 2013

MINUTE NO. 5 9:00 a.m. – Māmawapiwin Room (Room 8)

- 1. **Present**: Darryl Hickie in the Chair and Members Danielle Chartier, Roger Parent, Warren Steinley, Doyle Vermette and Nadine Wilson.
- 2. The following document was tabled:

TSC 30/27 – Kathy Bellamy

- 3. The committee resumed consideration of its inquiry into traffic safety.
- 4. Andrew Murie, Chief Executive Officer, representing MADD Canada, addressed the committee and responded to questions. The following document was tabled:

TSC 31/27 – MADD Canada: Presentation slides.

- 5. The committee recessed from 10:00 a.m. until 10:11 a.m.
- 6. The committee resumed consideration of its inquiry into traffic safety.
- 7. Tom Mullin, President and CEO, Saskatchewan Hospitality Association and Chair of SSIP Committee and Diane Cohoon, Training Manager of Saskatchewan Tourism Education Council, Tourism Saskatchewan, representing Saskatchewan Server Intervention Program (SSIP) Committee Serve It Right Saskatchewan, addressed the committee and responded to questions. The following document was tabled:

TSC 25/27(2) – Saskatchewan Server Intervention Program Committee – Serve It Right Saskatchewan: Presentation slides

- 8. The committee recessed from 10:55 a.m. until 11:00 a.m.
- 9. The committee resumed consideration of its inquiry into traffic safety.
- 10. Heather Becker, Manager Social Marketing, Saskatchewan Workers' Compensation Board, Annette Goski, Manager South, Prevention Department, Saskatchewan Workers' Compensation Board and Serge Pelletier, BHP Billiton representing WorkSafe Saskatchewan: Highway Safety Committee, addressed the committee and responded to questions. The following documents were tabled:
 - TSC 32/27(1) WorkSafe Saskatchewan: Highway Safety Committee Presentation slides
 - TSC 32/27(2) WorkSafe Saskatchewan: Highway Safety Committee CATI Survey Report January 2011
 - TSC 32/27(3) WorkSafe Saskatchewan: Highway Safety Committee Highway Traffic Counts
 - TSC 32/27(4) WorkSafe Saskatchewan: Highway Safety Committee Summary of SGI Data

TSC 32/27(5) – WorkSafe Saskatchewan: Highway Safety Committee – WCB Workplace Injury Data

TSC 32/27(6) – WorkSafe Saskatchewan: Highway Safety Committee – Submission

TSC 32/27(7) – WorkSafe Saskatchewan: Highway Safety Committee – Map Fatalities 2008-2011 WSE_1

TSC 32/27(8) – WorkSafe Saskatchewan: Highway Safety Committee – Map Fatalities 2008-2011 with Lloyd

TSC 32/27(9) – **WorkSafe Saskatchewan:** Highway Safety Committee – Map Fatalities 2008-2011 with Moose Jaw

TSC 32/27(10) – WorkSafe Saskatchewan: Highway Safety Committee – Map Injuries 2008-2011 with Lloyd

TSC 33/27(11) – WorkSafe Saskatchewan: Highway Safety Committee – Map Injuries 2008-2011 with Moose jaw

TSC 32/27(12) – WorkSafe Saskatchewan: Highway Safety Committee – Map Injuries 2008-2011 with SE

- 11. The committee recessed from 11:41 a.m. until 12:59 p.m.
- 12. The following Ministry of Justice officials appeared before the committee, made a presentation and answered questions:

Witnesses

Dale Larson, Executive Director, Policing and Community Safety Services Murray Sawatsky, Executive Director, Policing and Community Safety Services

- 13. The committee recessed from 1:44 p.m. until 1:58 p.m.
- 14. The committee resumed consideration of its inquiry into traffic safety.
- 15. Murray Klatt addressed the committee and responded to questions. The following document was tabled:

TSC 33/27 – Murray Klatt

16. It was moved by Mr. Parent:

That this committee do now adjourn.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

17. The committee adjourned at 3:04 p.m. until May 28, 2013 at 1:00 p.m.				
Kathy Burianyk		Darry	yl Hickie	
Kathy Burianyk Committee Clerk		Com	mittee Chair	