# SPECIAL COMMITTEE ON TRAFFIC SAFETY Tuesday, May 21, 2013

# MINUTE NO. 4 8:59 a.m. – Māmawapiwin Room (Room 8)

- 1. **Present**: Darryl Hickie in the Chair and Members Danielle Chartier, Roger Parent, Warren Steinley, Doyle Vermette and Nadine Wilson.
- 2. The following documents were tabled:

TSC 2/27(21) – Saskatchewan Government Insurance: Ignition Interlock Jurisdictional Comparison

**TSC 2/27(22)** – **Saskatchewan Government Insurance:** Legislation and Regulations on Driver Distraction, Cell Phone Use and Texting

TSC 26/27(1) – Saskatchewan Association of Rural Municipalities

TSC 26/27(2) – Saskatchewan Association of Rural Municipalities: Meeting Notes, February 27, 2013

TSC 26/27(3) – Saskatchewan Association of Rural Municipalities: BEO Options Document

3. The committee began its inquiry, pursuant to the Order of Reference dated March 5, 2013:

Ordered, That a Special Committee on Traffic Safety be appointed in accordance with Rule 150(1) of the *Rules and Procedures of the Legislative Assembly of Saskatchewan* to conduct an inquiry on matters related to:

Improving traffic safety and reducing fatalities by examining the dominant factors that cause traffic collisions in the province: impaired driving, distracted driving, excessive speed, intersection safety, and wildlife collisions as well as education and public awareness issues related to traffic safety; and,

That the said committee shall hold public hearings to receive representations from interested individuals and groups and report its recommendations to the Assembly by August 30, 2013; and further,

That Members Hickie, Wilson, Cox, Parent, Steinley, Chartier, and Vermette be appointed to the said committee.

4. The following Saskatchewan Government Insurance officials appeared before the committee, made a presentation and answered questions:

#### Witnesses

Andrew Cartmell, President and Chief Executive Officer Earl Cameron, Vice President, Auto Fund Kwei Quaye, Assistant Vice President, Traffic Safety and Driver Services 5. The following document was tabled:

TSC 2/27(23) – Saskatchewan Government Insurance: Presentation slides.

- 6. The committee recessed from 10:25 a.m. until 10:34 a.m.
- 7. The committee resumed consideration of its inquiry into traffic safety.
- 8. The committee recessed from 12:12 p.m. until 1:04 p.m.
- 9. The committee resumed consideration of its inquiry into traffic safety.
- 10. The following Ministry of Highways and Infrastructure officials appeared before the committee, made a presentation and answered questions:

#### Witnesses

Jennifer Ehmantraut, Assistant Deputy Minister, Ministry Services and Standards Branch David Stearns, Executive Director, Technical Standards Branch Sukhy Kent, Director, Design and Traffic Engineering Standards

11. The following document was tabled:

TSC 16/27(3) – Ministry of Highways and Infrastructure: Presentation slides.

- 12. The committee recessed from 1:41 p.m. until 2:00 p.m.
- 13. The committee resumed consideration of its inquiry into traffic safety.
- 14. Paul Legrand, Treasurer, representing Regina Fish and Game League, addressed the committee and responded to questions. The following document was tabled:

## TSC 27/27 – Regina Fish and Game League

- 15. The committee recessed from 2:19 p.m. until 3:03 p.m.
- 16. The committee resumed consideration of its inquiry into traffic safety.
- 17. Rhonda Cwynar and Don Fuller, representing R.A.G.E (Riders Against Government Exploitation), addressed the committee and responded to questions. The following document was tabled:

### TSC 28/27 – R.A.G.E. (Riders Against Government Exploitation)

- 18. The committee recessed from 3:48 p.m. until 3:54 p.m.
- 19. The committee resumed consideration of its inquiry into traffic safety.
- 20. Raymond Orb, Reeve, representing RM of Cupar No. 218, addressed the committee and responded to questions. The following document was tabled:

### TSC 29/27 – RM of Cupar No. 218

21. It was moved by Mr. Cox:		
	That this committee do now adjourn.	
	The question being put, it was agreed to.	
22.	The committee adjourned at 4:08 p.m. until May 22, 2013 at 9:00 a.m.	
Kath Con	hy Burianyk nmittee Clerk	Darryl Hickie Committee Chair