SELECT COMMITTEE ON TOBACCO CONTROL November 22nd, 2000

MINUTE NO. 40 9:03 a.m. – Room 10

1. **PRESENT:** Mr. Kowalsky in the Chair, Members Addley, Bakken, Eagles, Higgins, and Wartman.

Others Present:

Tanya Hill, Committee Researcher Gregory Putz, Deputy Clerk

2. Messrs. Bird, Choponis, Dionne, Ledohowski, Leschuk, Nelson, and Riddell representing the Hotels Association of Saskatchewan addressed the Committee and responded to questions.

Mr. Bird tabled the following documents:

TCC 173A-E/24 Hotel Association of Saskatchewan: Written submissions including:

- "Hotels & Air Quality: A Responsible Approach to Tobacco Control";
- "Indoor Air Quality" information provided by Leo Ledohowski;
- letter from Scott Roberts, National Sales & Marketing Manager, Commercial Air Products, Honeywell International to Leo Ledohowski;
- document entitled "Executive Summary of Five Different Tests of Three Different Manufacturer's Equipment";
- document entitled "Breathe Purified...Allergen Free Air";
- 3. The Committee recessed from 10:20 a.m. until 10:30 a.m.
- 4. Messrs. Brown, Crowe, Petersen, and Richardson representing the Canadian restaurant and Foodservices Association addressed the Committee and responded to questions.

Mr. Richardson tabled the following document:

TCC 174/24 Canadian Restaurant and Foodservices Association: Document entitled "Submission to the Saskatchewan Legislative Assembly Special Committee on Tobacco Control" dated November 2000.

. . . 2

Special Committee on Tobacco Control, November 22nd, 2000 - continued

5.	The Committee considered its meeting schedule. It was agreed that on November 30 th the Committee would hear from witnesses from 9:00 a.m. until 10:30 a.m. and would then meet in closed session from 1:30 p.m. until 5:00 p.m. The Committee also tentatively agreed to meet on the morning of December 6 th .
6.	It was moved by Ms. Bakken:
	That this Committee do now adjourn.
	The question being put, the motion was agreed to.
7.	The Committee adjourned at 11:38 a.m. until 9:00 a.m. on November 30 th , 2000.
Vil	tor Kaczkowski Myron Kowalsky
Co	mmittee Clerk Committee Chair