SPECIAL COMMITTEE ON TOBACCO CONTROL March 7th, 2000

MINUTE NO. 17 1:05 p.m. – Saskatoon

1. **PRESENT:** Mr. Kowalsky in the Chair and Members Addley, Eagles, Higgins and Wartman

Others Present

Tanya Hill, Committee Researcher

- 2. The Chair made a presentation on the issues of tobacco control and the mandate of the Committee.
- 3. Dr. Brian Graham representing the Saskatchewan Lung Association addressed the Committee and responded to questions.
- 4. Mr. Bob Bundon representing the Saskatchewan Association of Health Organizations addressed the Committee and responded to questions.
- 5. Ms. Emily Alstad and Dr. Linda Baker representing Gabriel Springs Health District addressed the Committee and responded to questions.
- 6. Ms. Mary MacDonald and Ms. Verity More-Wright representing the Heart and Stroke Foundation addressed the Committee and responded to questions.
- 7. Ms. Gay Hovland addressed the Committee and responded to questions.
- 8. Mr. Robert Parker representing the Canadian Tobacco Manufacturers' Council addressed the Committee and responded to questions.
- 9. Dr. Ross Findlater representing the Medical Officers' Council of Saskatchewan addressed the Committee and responded to questions.
- 10. Ms. Joan Wolf and Ms. Leah Wolf addressed the Committee and responded to questions.
- 11. Mr. Stan Oleksinski and Mr. Daniel Kirshgeshner representing the Saskatchewan Medical Association addressed the Committee and responded to questions.
- 12. Ms. Karen Grauer representing the Saskatoon Health District Public Health Services addressed the Committee and responded to questions.

. . . 2

Special Committee on Tobacco Control, March 7th, 2000 - continued

- 13. Ms. Giselle Lavalley representing the Federation of Saskatchewan Indian Nations addressed the Committee and responded to questions.
- 14. Mr. Blair Magnuson representing 7-11 Canada addressed the Committee and responded to questions.
- 15. Ms. Carol Olsen representing the Saskatoon Health District Board addressed the Committee.
- 16. Ms. Ruth Collins-Ewen addressed the Committee.
- 17. Dr. Oliver Laxdal addressed the Committee and responded to questions.
- 18. At 5:05 p.m., the Committee recessed until 7:06 p.m.
- 19. Mr. John Owen addressed the Committee and responded to questions.
- 20. Ms. Patricia Mess addressed the Committee.
- 21. Ms. Donna Choppe addressed the Committee and responded to questions.
- 22. Mr. Earl Hill addressed the Committee and responded to questions.
- 23. Ms. Pat Krueger, Dr. David Skarsgard and Dr. I. Maghfoor addressed the Committee and responded to questions.
- 24. Ms. Margaret Shearer representing the Saskatoon Community Clinic addressed the Committee.
- 25. Ms. Gwen Gordon-Pringle representing the Saskatchewan Coalition for Tobacco Reduction addressed the Committee and responded to questions.
- 26. Ms. Heather Banica representing People for Smoke-free Places addressed the Committee and responded to questions.
- 27. Ms. Connie Bowman addressed the Committee.

. . . 3

Special Committee on Tobacco Control, March 7th, 2000 – continued

- 28. Mr. Mark von Schellwitz and Mr. Don Richardson representing the Canadian Restaurant and Foodservices Association (Western Canada) addressed the Committee and responded to questions.
- 29. Mr. Aaron Schroeder representing Student Working Against Tobacco addressed the Committee and responded to questions.
- 30. Ms. Judith Lambie addressed the Committee.
- 31. Mr. Steven Lloyd representing the Saskatchewan Youth Parliament addressed the Committee and responded to questions.
- 32. The meeting adjourned at 10:24 p.m.

Donna Bryce	Myron Kowalsky
Committee Clerk	Committee Chair