### SPECIAL COMMITTEE ON TOBACCO CONTROL February 24<sup>th</sup>, 2000

## MINUTE NO. 12 10:05 a.m. – Regina

1. **PRESENT:** Mr. Kowalsky in the Chair and Members Eagles, Higgins and Wartman

#### **Others Present**

Tanya Hill, Committee Researcher

- 2. The Chair made a presentation on the issues of tobacco control and the mandate of the Committee.
- 3. Ms. Alicia Brown, Ms. Jackie Duke and Ms. Andrea Sylvester representing Fly Higher F.W. Johnson Collegiate addressed the Committee and responded to questions.
- 4. Ms. Lisa Williams addressed the Committee and responded to questions.
- 5. Mr. Allyne Knox addressed the Committee and responded to questions.
- 6. Dr. Tania Diener representing the Saskatchewan Public Health Association addressed the Committee and responded to questions.
- 7. Ms. Lynn Greaves representing the Regina Health District Public Health Services addressed the Committee and responded to questions.
- 8. Ms. Katherine Ross and Ms. Lynn Koehler addressed the Committee and responded to questions.
- 9. At 11:59 a.m., the Committee recessed until 2:05 p.m.
- 10. Mr. Rob Cunningham representing the Canadian Cancer Society National Office of Public Issues addressed the Committee and responded to questions.
- 11. Mr. Doug Lambert representing the Saskatchewan Department of Finance addressed the Committee and responded to questions.
- 12. Mr. Tom Fuzesy addressed the Committee and responded to questions.

. . . 2

# Special Committee on Tobacco Control, February 24<sup>th</sup>, 2000 – continued

- 13. Mr. Larry Bird representing the Hotels' Association of Saskatchewan addressed the Committee and responded to questions.
- 14. At 3:15 p.m., the Committee recessed until 3:28 p.m.
- 15. Mr. Craig Dotson and Ms. Jane Thurgood-Sagl representing the Saskatchewan Department of Education addressed the Committee and responded to questions.
- 16. Ms. Yvonne Graph representing the Canadian Institute of Public Health Inspectors Saskatchewan Branch addressed the Committee and responded to questions.
- 17. Mr. Wilfred Smith addressed the Committee.
- 18. At 4:20 p.m., the Committee recessed until 4:50 p.m.
- 19. Ms. Simone Fellinger and Ms. Kalie Dejaegher addressed the Committee and responded to questions.
- 20. At 5:05 p.m., the Committee recessed until 7:05 p.m.
- 21. The Chair made a presentation on the issues of tobacco control and the mandate of the Committee.
- 22. Ms. Roberta Cox representing Heart Healthy Partners addressed the Committee and responded to questions.
- 23. Dr. Shreedhar Jachak addressed the Committee and responded to questions.
- 24. Mr. Dave Abbey addressed the Committee and responded to questions.
- 25. Ms. Patti Pacholek representing the Canadian Cancer Society Saskatchewan Division addressed the Committee and responded to questions.
- 26. Mr. Doug Alexander addressed the Committee and responded to questions.

. . . 3

## Special Committee on Tobacco Control, February 24<sup>th</sup>, 2000 – continued

- 27. Ms. Elisha Kapell representing Students Working Against Tobacco (SWAT) addressed the Committee and responded to questions.
- 28. Mr. Don Richardson representing the Canadian Restaurant and Food Services Division addressed the Committee and responded to questions.
- 29. Ms. Kate Kangles and Ms. Stephanie Johnson representing Plains Hotel addressed the Committee and responded to questions.
- 30. Mr. Lester Henry and Ms. Donna Bear representing the Landmark Inn addressed the Committee and responded to questions.
- 31. Mr. Norm Kish addressed the Committee and responded to questions.
- 32. Dr. R.K.D. James addressed the Committee and responded to questions.
- 33. The meeting adjourned at 10:10 p.m.

Donna Bryce Committee Clerk	Myron Kowalsky Committee Chair	