## SPECIAL COMMITTEE ON RULES AND PROCEDURES July 3<sup>rd</sup>, 2001

## MINUTE NO. 3 5:00 p.m. — Room 10

- 1. **PRESENT**: Mr. Speaker in the Chair and Members D'Autremont, Junor, Kwiatkowski, McMorris, Osika and Thomson.
- 2. It was moved by Mr. Kwiatkowski:

That this committee meet *in camera*, and further that the Assistant to the Speaker be permitted to observe the *in camera* proceedings.

The question being put, the motion was adopted.

3. The Chair of the Committee presided over the election of a Vice-Chair. Ms. Junor nominated Mr. Thomson for the position. There being no further nominations, it was moved by Ms. Junor:

That nominations for the position of Vice-Chair close.

The question being put, the motion was adopted.

It was then moved by Ms. Junor:

That Mr. Andrew Thomson be elected to preside as Vice-Chair of the Special Committee on Rules and Procedures.

The question being put, the motion was adopted.

4. In consquence of changes to the membership of the committee, it was moved by Mr. D'Autremont:

That Mr. Andrew Thomson be appointed as a member of the Sub-committee on Agenda and Procedure (Steering Committee).

The question being put, the motion was adopted.

5. The Study Delegation appointed by the Committee at its last meeting (re: Minute No. 2, January 17<sup>th</sup>, 2001) made a report.

## Special Committee on Rules and Procedures, July 3<sup>rd</sup>, 2001 - continued

6. The Committee considered a draft Second Report to the Legislative Assembly. Amendments were made and the Committee Clerk was asked to revise the report for presentation to the Assembly on July 4<sup>th</sup>, 2001. It was then moved by Mr. Thomson:

That the Special Committee on Rules and Procedure adopt and present the Second Report to the Assembly, as amended.

The question being put, the motion was adopted.

7. It was moved by Mr. Thomson:

That this Committee do now adjourn.

The question being put, the motion was agreed to.

8. The Committee adjourned at 6:05 p.m. to the call of the Chair.

Gregory A. Putz Committee Clerk Hon. P. Myron Kowalsky Speaker and Chair