STANDING COMMITTEE ON PRIVATE MEMBERS' BILLS

May 20, 1998

MINUTE NO. 6

9:00 a.m. - Room 255

1. **PRESENT:** Mr. Johnson in the Chair and Members Draude, Langford, Murray, Ward and Whitmore

Other Members:

Mr. Koenker

Mr. Kasperski

Mr. D'Autremont

- 2. The Chair of the Committee presided over the election of a Vice-Chair. Mr. Whitmore nominated Ms. Draude for the position
- 3. It was moved by Mr. Whitmore:

That Ms. Draude be elected to preside as Vice-Chair of the Standing Committee on Private Member's Bills.

The question being put, the motion was agreed to.

4. Bill No. 301 – The Conference of Mennonites of Saskatchewan Act

Sponsor: Mr. Mark Koenker, MLA

Witnesses: Mr. Henry Harder, Chair of the Conference of Mennonites of Saskatchewan

Ms. Florence Driedger, National Conference Board of Mennonites

Mr. Otto Driedger, Past Chair National Conference Board of Mennonites

- (a) Law Clerk's report read and tabled.
- (b) Preamble read and adopted. (Ms. Murray)
- (c) Bill considered clause by clause.
- (d) Bill to be reported without amendment. (Ms. Draude)

- 5. Resolved, That fees less the cost of printing be refunded with respect to Bill 301. (Ms. <u>Draude</u>)
- 6. **Bill No. 302** The Fondation Fransaskoise Act, 1998 / Loi de 1998 sur la Fondation Fransaskoise

Sponsor: Mr. Lindy Kasperski, MLA

7. The following documents were tabled by the Chair:

PMBC 1/23 – Written submission by Armande Piché Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan

PMBC 2/23 – Written submission by Ovide L'Heuruex, Gravelbourg, Saskatchewan

PMBC 3/23 – Written submission by Dr. Rosario Morin, Montreal, Quebec

PMBC 4/23 – Written submission by Lorraine Archambault, President, Association Culturelle Franco-Canadienne de la Saskatchewan

PMBC 5/23 – Written submission by Norbert Lepage, Secretary-Treasurer, La Fondaton de la Radio Française en Saskatchewan

PMBC 6/23 – Written submission by Dr. Rosario Morin, Montreal, Quebec

8. Witnesses in support of Bill 302:

Mr. Norbert Lepage, Secretary-Treasurer, La Fondation de la Radio Française en Saskatchewan

Ms. Lorraine Archambault, President, Association Culturelle Franco-Canadienne de la Saskatchewan

9. Witnesses in opposition to Bill 302:

Dr. Rosario Morin

Mr. Louis Morin

Mr. Maurice Morin

The Committee deliberated.

10. The Committee adjourned at 11:25 a.m. to the call of the Chair.

Gwenn Ronyk Committee Clerk Lloyd Johnson <> Committee Chair