## STANDING COMMITTEE ON PRIVATE MEMBERS' BILLS April 27, 2000

## MINUTE NO. 1 11:15 a.m. – Room 10

- 1. **PRESENT**: Mr. Wartman in the Chair and Members Brkich, Higgins, Kasperski, Kowalsky, Yates
- 2. The Clerk to the Committee presided over the election of a Chair. Mr. Yates nominated Mr. Wartman for the position. There being no further nominations, it was moved by Ms. Higgins:

That nominations for the position of Chair close.

The question being put, the motion was agreed to.

3. It was moved by Mr. Yates:

That Mr. Mark Wartman be elected to preside as Chair of the Standing Committee on Private Member's Bills.

The question being put, the motion was agreed to and Mr. Wartman took the Chair.

4. The Chair of the Committee presided over the election of a Vice-Chair. Ms. Higgins nominated Mr. Brkich for the position. There being no further nominations, it was moved by Mr. Yates:

That nominations for the position of Vice-Chair close.

The question being put, the motion was agreed to.

5. It was moved by Ms. Higgins:

That Mr. Brkich be elected to preside as Vice-Chair of the Standing Committee on Private Member's Bills.

The question being put, the motion was agreed to.

6. The Clerk reported on petitions for Private Bills as follows:

**Petition 301** – Of the Mennonite Central Committee Saskatchewan, Inc., in the Province of Saskatchewan

Rules Complied with Resolved, That the Petition be accepted. (Mr. Yates)

## **Standing Committee on Private Members' Bills – April 27, 2000 (continued)**

**Petition 302** – Of the Regina Golf Club, in the Province of Saskatchewan

Rules Complied with Resolved, That the Petition be accepted. (Mr. Yates)

**Petition 303** – Of the Archiepiscopal Corporation of Regina and the Episcopal Corporation of Saskatoon, in the Province of Saskatchewan

Rules Complied with Resolved, That the Petition be accepted. (Mr. Yates)

- 7. Resolved, That Petitions 301, 302 and 303 be reported to the Assembly. (Mr. Kasperski)
- 8. The Committee adjourned at 11:33 a.m. to the call of the Chair.

Gwenn Ronyk Committee Clerk Mark Wartman Committee Chair