# STANDING COMMITTEE ON PUBLIC ACCOUNTS April 18, 1989

#### MINUTE NO. 9

April 18, 1989 at 8:30 a.m.

 PRESENT: Mr. Van Mulligen in the Chair and the following Members: Anguish, Hopfner, Lyons, Martens, Martin, Muirhead, Muller, Neudorf and Rolfes

#### **Officials**

#### **Provincial Auditor's Office**

W. Lutz, Provincial Auditor F. Wendel, Assistant Provincial Auditor M. Heffernan, Deputy Provincial Auditor E. Montgomery, Audit Manager

# Comptroller's Office

- G. Kraus, Provincial Comptroller T. Paton, A/Director, Financial Management Branch
- 2. The following documents were Tabled:

PAC 8/88-89 – Information requested by the Committee during the hearing of Executive Council April 6, 1989.

3. The debate continuing on the motion of Mr. Hopfner, and the question put, it was agreed:

That the hearing of the Department of Energy and Mines be concluded subject to recall, if necessary, for further questions.

3. Public Hearing: Department of Education and Department of Advanced Education

#### Witnesses:

Lawrie McFarlane, Deputy Minister
Mike Benson, Executive Director, Finances & Operations
Deb Achen, Executive Director, Training
Arleen Schultz, Executive Secretary, Teachers' Superannuation Commission
Linda Jackson, Accountant, Financial Planning

4. The following document was tabled:

PAC 9/88-89 – Memo explaining Student Aid Fund Regulations Regarding Interest Calculations and Repayment Application from the Department of Justice to the Department of Education.

5. During the meeting, Mr. McFarlane agreed to provide the Committee with written answers to questions put by several Members.

6. The Committee adjourned at 10:30 a.m. until Thursday, April 20, 1989 at 8:30 a.m.

# Agenda:

Department of Economic Development and Trade (now Department of Trade and Investment)

Department of Tourism and Small Business (now Department of Economic Development and Tourism)

#### PRIORITY LIST OF DEPARTMENTS AND AGENCIES TO BE CALLED

Department of Education & Department of Advanced Education

Department of Highways

Department of Economic Development and Trade (now Department of Trade and Investment)

Department of Tourism and Small Business (now Department of Economic Development and Tourism)

Provincial Secretary

Department of Justice

Employment Development Agency (now Human Resources Labour and Employment)

Department of Labour (now Human Resources Labour and Employment)

Saskatchewan Housing Corporation

Department of Agriculture

Agricultural Credit Corporation

Agricultural Development Corporation

Department of Social Services

Department of Health

Public Service Commission

Department of Environment

Department of Science and Technology

Crown Investments Corporation

Westank (SEDCO)

Department of Consumer and Commercial Affairs

Office of the Provincial Auditor

### HEARINGS CONCLUDED SUBJECT TO RECALL

Department of Parks & Renewable Resources and Department of Culture & Recreation (now Parks, Recreation & Culture) Department of Supply and Services and the Saskatchewan Property Management Corporation

# HEARINGS ADJOURNED SUBJECT TO RECALL

Department of Energy and Mines

Department of Finance

(including Department of Revenue and Financial Services and Municipal Employees)

Office of Executive Council