STANDING COMMITTEE ON PUBLIC ACCOUNTS March 21, 1989

MINUTE NO. 3

March 21, 1989 at 8:30 a.m.

1. PRESENT: Mr. Van Mulligen in the Chair and the following Members: Anguish, Hopfner, Lyons, Martens, Martin, Muirhead, Muller, Neudorf, Rolfes

Officials

Provincial Auditor's Office

W. Lutz, Provincial AuditorF. Wendel, Assistant Provincial AuditorB. Atkinson, Deputy Provincial AuditorJ. Hunt, Deputy Provincial Auditor

Comptroller's Office

G. Kraus, Provincial Comptroller T. Paton, A/Director, Financial Management Branch

2. The Committee agreed to cancel the meeting of Thursday, March 23 because the Assembly will be sitting that morning.

The Committee also agreed that it would not sit next Tuesday morning if the House does not sit on Monday.

3. Public Hearing: Department of Finance (Department of Revenue and Financial Services and Municipal Employees Superannuation Commission)

Officials:

Art Wakabayashi, Deputy Minister of Finance Bill Jones, Assistant Deputy Minister, Treasury and Debt Management Bob Blackwell, Executive Director, Operations and Budget Review, Treasury Board Division Doug Matthies, Director, Accounting and Administration, Saskatchewan Pension Plan Brian Smith, Executive Director, Public Employees Benefits Agency Bill Van Sickle, Executive Director, Administration Branch

4 The following document was tabled:

PAC 1/89 – Correction to Information Provided regarding the amount of expenditures authorized by the Special Warrant during 1986-87.

5. Mr. Lyons asked the Department to provide the monthly statements of expenditures and revenues during the year under review prepared by the Office of the Comptroller. The Deputy Minister refused to provide the documents on the grounds that it was long-standing government policy that the documents in question are internal and are not released. The Chairman ruled that the answer must be accepted and that the question was one which ought to be put to the Minister.

- 6. The Department agreed to provide the Committee with the per barrel figure used to estimate oil revenues in the year under review.
- 7. The Department agreed to provide the basis on which the estimate for 1986-87 Corporation's Income Tax was determined. The Department undertook to provide similar information on various other revenue items.
- 8. The Committee adjourned at 10:40 a.m. until either Tuesday or Thursday of next week.

Gwenn Ronyk Committee Clerk H.H. Van Mulligen Chairman

PRIORITY LIST OF DEPARTMENTS AND AGENCIES TO BE CALLED

Department of Finance (including Department of Revenue and Financial Services and Municipal Employees Superannuation Commission) **Executive Council** Department of Supply and Services and the Saskatchewan Property Management Corporation Department of Energy and Mines Department of Education & Department of Advanced Education Department of Highways Department of Economic Development and Trade (now Department of Trade and Investment) Department of Tourism and Small Business (now Department of Economic Development and Trade) **Provincial Secretary** Department of Justice Employment Development Agency (now Human Resources Labour and Employment) Department of Labour (now Human Resources Labour and Employment) Saskatchewan Housing Corporation Department of Agriculture Agricultural Credit Corporation Agricultural Development Corporation Department of Social Services Department of Health Public Service Commission Department of Environment Department of Science and Technology Crown Investments Corporation Westank (SEDCO) Department of Consumer and Commercial Affairs Department of Parks & Renewable Resources and Department of Culture & Recreation (now Parks, Recreation & Culture) hearings began but may be called back Office of the Provincial Auditor