# STANDING COMMITTEE ON PUBLIC ACCOUNTS June 12, 1986

#### **MINUTE NO. 11**

June 12, 1986 at 9:00 a.m.

1. PRESENT: Mr. Glauser in the Chair, and Members Katzman, Muller, Shillington, Tchorzewski, Young

# **Provincial Auditor's Office**

W.G. Bucknall, Deputy Provincial Auditor

- J. Hunt, Deputy Provincial Auditor
- E. Montgomery, Audit Manager
- F. Wendel, Assistant Provincial Auditor

## Comptroller's Office

- G. Kraus, Comptroller
- G. Benson, Deputy Comptroller
- 2. The Vice-Chairman welcomed Mr. Tchorzewski, MLA to the Committee.
- 3. Public Hearing: Department of Health (continued)

#### Witnesses

Waiter Podiluk, Deputy Minister George Loewen, Associate Deputy Minister Lawrence Krahn, Director, Administrative Services Branch John McLaughlin, Associate Director, Administrative Services Branch

- 4. **Department of Health**: Hearing completed.
- 5. Mr. Tchorzewski was elected Chairman, nemine contradicente.
- 6. Public Hearing: Department of Social Services

#### Witnesses

- Mr. Con Hnatiuk, Deputy Minister
- Mr. Dan Cunningham, Assistant Deputy Minister
- Mr. Art Uhren, Acting Executive Director, Income Security Division
- Mr. Graham Craig, Department Comptroller
- 7. **Department of Social Services**: Hearing adjourned.
- 8. The Committee adjourned at 11:10 a.m. until Thursday, June 19, 1986 at 9:00 a.m. in Room 10.

#### Agenda

- 1. Department of Social Services (continued)
- 2. Department of Agriculture Standby

# **PROGRESS**

The following departments, boards, commissions, agencies, or crown corporations have been selected for committee scrutiny, pursuant to issues raised in the 1985 Provincial Auditor's Report, the Public Accounts of the Province of Saskatchewan and the respective agency's annual reports for the year under review. The anticipated hearing section is subject to change.

## **HEARINGS CONCLUDED**

Department of Health Department of Revenue and Financial Services Municipal Employees' Superannuation Commission

## ANTICIPATED HEARINGS

Department of Advanced Education and Manpower
Department of Agriculture
Saskatchewan Computer Utility Corporation
Department of Cooperation and Cooperative Development
Department of Finance
Department of Health
Indian and Native Affairs Secretariat
Department of Justice
Saskatchewan Forest Products Corporation
Department of Social Services
Department of Tourism and Small Business
Saskatchewan Research Council