# STANDING COMMITTEE ON PUBLIC ACCOUNTS Wednesday, April 16, 2014

## MINUTE NO. 17 7:59 a.m. – Māmawapiwin Room (Room 8)

1. **Present**: Danielle Chartier in the Chair and Members Jennifer Campeau, Herb Cox, Glen Hart, Scott Moe, Laura Ross, Corey Tochor and Trent Wotherspoon.

## **Provincial Auditor's Office**

Judy Ferguson, Acting Provincial Auditor Mobashar Ahmad, Deputy Provincial Auditor Kim Lowe, Principal Victor Schwab, Principal Melanie Heebner, Senior Manager Jennifer Zerr, Senior Manager Jason Shaw, Manager

## **Provincial Comptroller's Office**

Terry Paton, Provincial Comptroller Chris Bayda, Executive Director, Financial Management Branch

2. The committee considered Chapter 8 (Executive Council) of the 2013 Report of the Provincial Auditor (Volume 2). Ms. Ferguson and Mr. Shaw of the Office of the Provincial Auditor provided an overview of the chapters.

The following Executive Council officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

#### Witnesses

Doug Moen, Deputy Minister to the Premier Bonita Cairns, Executive Director, Corporate Services Richard Murray, Acting Deputy Minister, Ministry of Central Services

- 3. The committee concurred with recommendation 8-1 made at page 72 of Chapter 8 (Executive Council) of the 2013 Report of the Provincial Auditor (Volume 2) that the Office of Executive Council use Canadian generally accepted accounting principles for the public sector to budget and account for system development costs.
- 4. The committee considered Chapter 12 (Highways and Infrastructure) of the 2012 Report of the Provincial Auditor (Volume 2) and Chapter 13 (Highways and Infrastructure) of the 2013 Report of the Provincial Auditor (Volume 2). Ms. Ferguson and Mr. Schwab of the Office of the Provincial Auditor provided an overview of the chapters.

The following Highways and Infrastructure officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

#### Witnesses

Nithi Govindasamy, Deputy Minister Jennifer Ehrmantraut, Associate Deputy Minister, Operations Division Wayne Gienow, Acting Executive Director, Corporate Services Division

- 5. The committee concurred with recommendation 12-1 made at page 114 of Chapter 12 (Highways and Infrastructure) of the 2012 Report of the Provincial Auditor (Volume 2) that the Ministry of Highways and Infrastructure follow the established procedures for processing final timecards of employees who leave the employment of the Ministry. The committee noted that the Ministry of Highways and Infrastructure is making progress towards complying with the recommendation.
- 6. The committee concluded consideration of Chapter 13 (Highways and Infrastructure) of the 2013 Report of the Provincial Auditor (Volume 2).
- 7. The committee considered Chapter 14 (Labour Relations and Workplace Safety) of the 2012 Report of the Provincial Auditor (Volume 2) and Chapter 15 (Labour Relations and Workplace Safety) of the 2013 Report of the Provincial Auditor (Volume 2). Ms. Ferguson and Mr. Ahmad of the Office of the Provincial Auditor provided an overview of the chapters.

The following Labour Relations and Workplace Safety officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

### Witnesses

Mike Carr, Deputy Minister Louise Usick, Executive Director, Central Services

- 8. The committee concurred with recommendation 14-1 made at page 123 of Chapter 14 (Labour Relations and Workplace Safety) of the 2012 Report of the Provincial Auditor (Volume 2) that the Ministry of Labour Relations and Workplace Safety follow its established procedures for removing user access to its computer systems and data in a timely manner. The committee noted that the Ministry of Labour Relations and Workplace Safety has complied with the recommendation.
- 9. The committee concluded consideration of Chapter 15 (Labour Relations and Workplace Safety) of the 2013 Report of the Provincial Auditor (Volume 2).
- 10. It was moved by Mr. Tochor:

That this committee do now adjourn.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

11. The committee adjourned at 8:39 a.m. until April 30, 2014 at 8:00 a.m.

 Kathy Burianyk	Danielle Chartier	
2		
Committee Clerk	Committee Chair	