# STANDING COMMITTEE ON PUBLIC ACCOUNTS May 16, 2006

## MINUTE NO. 34 10:30 a.m. - Room 8

1. **PRESENT**: Mr. Hermanson in the Chair and Members Borgerson, Cheveldayoff, Chisholm, Crofford, McCall\* and Trew.

## **Substituting Member**

Mr. McCall for Mr. Iwanchuk

#### Other Members

Mr. D'Autremont, Mr. Merriman

#### **Provincial Auditor's Office**

Fred Wendel, Provincial Auditor Mike Heffernan, Deputy Provincial Auditor Jeff Kress, Principal Kim Lowe, Principal Victor Schwab, Principal

## **Provincial Comptroller's Office**

Terry Paton, Provincial Comptroller Chris Bayda, Executive Director, Financial Management Branch

2. The following documents were tabled:

**PAC 39/25 Provincial Auditor of Saskatchewan:** Response to question raised at the May 9, 2006 meeting of the committee, re: terminology used in SLGA internal audit reports, dated May 12, 2006.

**PAC 40/25 Department of Finance:** Reporting of public losses for the 2005-06 fiscal year, dated May 15, 2006.

**PAC 41/25 Department of Agriculture and Food:** Response to questions raised at the May 2, 2006 meeting of the committee, re: CAIS program, dated May 12, 2006.

3. The committee proceeded to consider Chapter 8 (Information Technology Office) of the *2005* Report of the Provincial Auditor (Volume 3). Mr. Kress of the Office of the Provincial Auditor provided an overview of the chapter.

The following Information Technology Office officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

# Witnesses

Don Wincherauk, Deputy Minister
Rory Norton, Assistant Deputy Minister, Operations
Fred Antunes, Executive Director, Corporate and Customer Services
Bill MacDonald, Manager, Telecommunications, Policy and Planning
Carla Feld, Director, Business Development and Chief Financial Officer
Andrew Chad, Financial Analyst, Business Development

- 4. The committee concurred with recommendation 8-1 made at page 216 of Chapter 8 (Information Technology Office) of the 2005 Report of the Provincial Auditor (Volume 3) that the Information Technology Office should sign service level agreements with its clients prior to delivering information technology services. The committee noted that the Information Technology Office is making progress towards complying with the recommendation.
- 5. The committee concurred with recommendation 8-2 made at page 216 of Chapter 8 (Information Technology Office) of the 2005 Report of the Provincial Auditor (Volume 3) that the Information Technology Office should sign agreements with its clients on security and disaster recovery processes, expectations, and reporting requirements. The committee noted that the Information Technology Office is making progress towards complying with the recommendation.
- 6. The committee proceeded to consider Chapter 4 (Community Resources and Employment) of the 2005 Report of the Provincial Auditor (Volume 3). Mr. Heffernan of the Office of the Provincial Auditor provided an overview of the chapter.

The following Department of Community Resources officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

## Witnesses

Duncan Fisher, Deputy Minister
Darrell Jones, Assistant Deputy Minister, Housing and Central Administration
Shelley Whitehead, Assistant Deputy Minister, Policy
Bob Wihlidal, Assistant Deputy Minister, Client Services
Don Allen, Executive Director, Finance & Property Management Division
Lynn Tulloch, Executive Director, Employment and Income Assistance Division
Andrea Brittin, Associate Executive Director, Child & Family Services Division

7. The committee next considered its representation at the Canadian Council of Public Accounts Committees 27<sup>th</sup> Annual Conference. It was moved by Ms. Crofford:

That the Standing Committee on Public Accounts authorize the attendance of the Chair, the Vice-Chair, one government member of the committee and one opposition member of the committee at the Twenty-seventh Annual Meeting of the Canadian Council of Public Accounts Committee to be held in Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, September 10<sup>th</sup> to 12<sup>th</sup>, 2006, and further that if the Chair or Vice-Chair cannot attend, they be authorized to designate another committee member to attend in their place.

The question being put, it was agreed.

8. The committee adjourned at 11:52 a.m. to the call of the chair.	
Margaret A. Woods	Elwin Hermanson
Committee Clerk	Committee Chair