STANDING COMMITTEE ON PUBLIC ACCOUNTS May 3, 2005

MINUTE NO. 20 10:45 a.m. - Room 8

1. **PRESENT**: Mr. Hermanson in the Chair and Members Borgerson, Cheveldayoff, Krawetz, Hagel, Trew and Yates.

Provincial Auditor's Office

Fred Wendel, Provincial Auditor Judy Ferguson, Deputy Provincial Auditor Kim Lowe, Manager

Provincial Comptroller's Office

Terry Paton, Provincial Comptroller Chris Bayda, Executive Director, Financial Management Branch

2. The committee proceeded to consider Chapter 18 (Reporting on Infrastructure) of the *2004 Report* of the Provincial Auditor (Volume 3). Ms. Lowe of the Office of the Provincial Auditor provided an overview of the chapter.

The following departmental and Crown corporation officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Department of Highways and Transportation:

John Law, Deputy Minister

Terry Schmidt, Assistant Deputy Minister, Operations

Cathy Lynn Borbely, Acting Director, Corporate Support Branch, Corporate Services Division Les Bell, Executive Director, Infrastructure and Land, Policy and Planning Division

Gary Diebel, Director, Finance & Administration Branch, Corporate Services Division

Department of Property Management:

Deb McDonald, Deputy Minister

Garth Rusconi, Assistant Deputy Minister, Accommodation Services Division

Donald Koop, Assistant Deputy Minister, Commercial Services Division

SaskEnergy:

Dean Reeve, Executive Vice President, Distribution Utility

Greg Mrazek, Vice President, Finance and Chief Financial Officer

Ron Podbielski, Executive Director, Corporate Affairs

Daryl Posehn, Senior Vice President, TransGas Limited

Saskatchewan Transportation Company:

John Millar, Director, Strategic Planning and Communications

3. The committee adjourned at 11:47 a.m. until 10:45 a.m. on Tuesday, May 10, 2005.

| Margaret A. Woods | Elwin Hermanson |
|-------------------|-----------------|
| Committee Clerk | Committee Chair |