## STANDING COMMITTEE ON PUBLIC ACCOUNTS June 1, 2000

## MINUTE NO. 2 9:30 a.m. — Room 10

1. **PRESENT**: Mr. Krawetz in the Chair and Members Gantefoer, Higgins, Jones, Kwiatkowski, Lorje, Stewart, Trew, Wakefield and Wartman.

## **Provincial Auditor's Office**

Fred Wendel, Acting Provincial Auditor Brian Atkinson, Executive Director Rodd Jersak, Manager

## **Provincial Comptroller's Office**

Terry Paton, Provincial Comptroller Chris Bayda, Director, Financial Management Branch Lisa Healy, Analyst Lori Taylor, Manager

2. The Chair of the Committee presided over the election of a Vice-Chair. Mr. Gantefoer nominated Ms. Lorje for the position. There being no further nominations, it was moved by Mr. Wakefield:

That nominations for the position of Vice-Chair close.

The question being put, the motion was agreed to.

3. It was moved by Mr. Gantefoer:

That Ms. Pat Lorje be elected to preside as Vice-Chair of the Standing Committee on Public Accounts.

The question being put, the motion was agreed to.

- 4. The Committee proceeded to consider the matter of establishing a process for the appointment of Provincial Auditor, given the resignation of Mr. Wayne Strelioff from that position. It was agreed that the Committee should also take into consideration other proposed changes to *The Provincial Auditor Act*, as advocated by both the Office of the Provincial Auditor and the Minister of Finance's Provincial Auditor Advisory Committee.
- 5. The Committee considered the "Special Report by the Provincial Auditor to the Legislative Assembly of Saskatchewan regarding Changes to the Provincial Auditor Act." (dated February 17<sup>th</sup>, 2000). The Acting Auditor provided an overview of the document and responded to questions put by Members.

6. The Committee received and considered the draft "Report of the Provincial Auditor Advisory Committee", which was forwarded to the Chair on May 25<sup>th</sup>, 2000, by the Minister of Finance. Mr. John Aitken and Ms. Nola Joorisity, members of the Advisory Committee, provided an overview of the document and responded to questions put by Members.

The following other officials appeared with the Advisory Committee: J.K. Aitken

N.D. Joorisity

- 7. The Committee agreed to further consider the recommendations of both documents at its next meeting.
- 8. It was moved by Mr. Kwiatkowski:

That this Committee do now adjourn.

The question being put, the motion was agreed to.

9. The Committee adjourned at 11:40 a.m. until Tuesday June 6<sup>th</sup>, 2000 in Room 10 at 9:00 a.m.

Gregory A. Putz

Committee Clerk

Ken Krawetz

Committee Chair