STANDING COMMITTEE ON INTERGOVERNMENTAL AFFAIRS AND JUSTICE Monday, May 16, 2011

MINUTE NO. 45 3:12 p.m. – Legislative Chamber

1. **Present:** Warren Michelson in the Chair and Members Greg Brkich, Michael Chisholm, Deb Higgins, Frank Quennell, Hon. Laura Ross, Gordon Wyant*.

Substituting Members

Gordon Wyant for Wayne Elhard

Other Members

Pat Atkinson, Buckley Belanger, David Forbes, Darcy Furber, Sandra Morin, Doyle Vermette, Nadine Wilson

2. The committee considered Bill No. 161 – The Election Amendment Act, 2010.

The following Justice and Attorney General Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. Don Morgan, Minister

Darcy McGovern, Director, Legislative Services Branch

3. Mr. Belanger tabled the following document:

IAJ 23/26 – **Elections Canada:** Pieces of identification authorized by the Chief Electoral Officer of Canada.

- 4. The questions being put on clauses 1 to 10, they were agreed to.
- 5. It was moved by Mr. Chisholm:

That the committee report Bill No. 161 – The Election Amendment Act, 2010 – without amendment.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

6. It was moved by Mr. Brkich:

That this committee do now adjourn.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

7. The committee adjourned at 5:10 p.m. to the call of the Chair

Kathy Burianyk	Warren Michelson
Committee Clerk	Committee Chair