STANDING COMMITTEE ON INTERGOVERNMENTAL AFFAIRS AND JUSTICE Thursday, May 12, 2011

MINUTE NO. 44 11:06 a.m. – Legislative Chamber

- 1. **Present:** Warren Michelson in the Chair and Members Greg Brkich, Michael Chisholm, Wayne Elhard, Deb Higgins, Frank Quennell and Hon. Laura Ross.
- 2. The committee considered Bill No. 160 The Saskatchewan Human Rights Code Amendment Act. 2010.

The following Justice and Attorney General Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. Don Morgan, Minister Judge David Arnot, Chief Commissioner, Saskatchewan Human Rights Commission Susan Amrud Q.C., Executive Director, Public Law Division Tom Irvine, Senior Crown Counsel, Constitutional Law Branch

Maria Markatos, Crown Counsel, Legislative Services Branch

- 3. The questions being put on clauses 1 to 28, they were agreed to.
- 4. It was moved by Mr. Elhard:

That the committee report Bill No. 160 – The Saskatchewan Human Rights Code Amendment Act, 2010 – without amendment.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

- 5. The committee recessed from 11:18 a.m. until 11:21 a.m.
- 6. The committee considered Bill No. 172 The Victims of Crime Amendment Act, 2011/ Projet de loi no 172 Loi de 2011 modifiant la Loi de 1995 sur les victimes d'actes criminels.

The following Justice and Attorney General Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. Don Morgan, Minister Jan Turner, Executive Director, Community Justice Division Darcy McGovern, Director, Legislative Services Branch Dwight Lawrence, Program Manager, Victim Services Branch

The questions being put on clauses 1 to 7, they were agreed to.

7. It was moved by Mr. Brkich:

That the committee report Bill No. 172 – The Victims of Crime Amendment Act, 2011/ Projet de loi no 172 – Loi de 2011 modifiant la Loi de 1995 sur les victimes d'actes criminels – without amendment.

TD1		1 '		٠,		1	
I ne o	uestion	neing	nut	1Ť	was	agreed	to
1110 9	acsuon	Com	pui,	ıι	W CLD	ugiccu	w.

8. It was moved by Hon. Ms. Ro	Ross:
--------------------------------	-------

That this committee do now adjourn.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

9. The committee adjourned at 12:07 p.m. to the call of the Chair

Kathy Burianyk Warren Michelson
Committee Clerk Committee Chair