STANDING COMMITTEE ON INTERGOVERNMENTAL AFFAIRS AND JUSTICE Monday, April 11, 2011

MINUTE NO. 40 6:59 p.m. – Legislative Chamber

1. **Present:** Warren Michelson in the Chair and Members Greg Brkich, Michael Chisholm, Wayne Elhard, Deb Higgins, Frank Quennell and Hon. Laura Ross.

Other Members

Danielle Chartier, Buckley Belanger

2. The committee considered the Estimates and Supplementary Estimates for the Ministry of Justice and Attorney General.

The following Justice and Attorney General Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. Don Morgan, Minister Gerald Tegart, Deputy Minister Ken Acton, Assistant Deputy Minister, Courts and Civil Justice Rod Crook, Assistant Deputy Minister, Regulatory Services Richard Hischebett, Executive Director, Civil Law Betty Ann Pottruff, Executive Director, Policy, Planning and Evaluation Dave Tulloch, Executive Director, Corporate Services Jan Turner, Executive Director, Community Justice Dale Beck, Director, Office of Residential Tenancies Darcy McGovern, Director, Legislative Services Lionel McNabb, Director, Family Justice Services Linsay Rabyj, Director, Communications Lane Wiegers, Senior Crown Prosecutor, Public Prosecutions Courtenay Phillips, Executive Assistant, Deputy Minister's Office Judge David Arnot, Chief Commissioner, Human Rights Commission Rebecca McLellan, Manager of Operations, Human Rights Commission Al Snell, Chief Executive Officer, Legal Aid Commission Dave Wild, Chair, Saskatchewan Financial Services Commission

- 3. The committee adjourned consideration of the Estimates and Supplementary Estimates for the Ministry of Justice and Attorney General.
- 4. The committee recessed from 9:16 p.m. until 9:21 p.m.
- 5. The following document was tabled:

IAJ 19/26 - **Ministry of First Nations and Métis Relations:** Response to questions raised at the April 5, 2011 meeting re: detailed budget for the Lands and Consultation Branch, dated April 7, 2011.

6. The committee considered the Estimates for the Ministry of Municipal Affairs.

The following Municipal Affairs Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. Darryl Hickie, Minister Van Isman, Deputy Minister Keith Comstock, Assistant Deputy Minister John Edwards, Executive Director, Policy Development Branch Russ Krywulak, Executive Director, Grants Administration and Financial Management Wanda Lamberti, Executive Director, Central Management Services Sheldon Green, Acting Executive Director, Strategy and Sector Relations Kyle Toffan, Director, Grants Administration Wade Armstrong, Chairman, Saskatchewan Municipal Board

- 7. The committee adjourned consideration of the Estimates for the Ministry of Municipal Affairs.
- 8. The committee adjourned at 10:31 p.m. to the call of the Chair.

Kathy Burianyk Committee Clerk Warren Michelson Committee Chair