STANDING COMMITTEE ON INTERGOVERNMENTAL AFFAIRS AND JUSTICE Monday, April 4, 2011

MINUTE NO. 39 2:56 p.m. – Legislative Chamber

1. **Present:** Warren Michelson in the Chair and Members Greg Brkich, Michael Chisholm, Wayne Elhard, Deb Higgins, Warren McCall*, Frank Quennell and Laura Ross.

Substituting Members

Warren McCall for Deb Higgins (6:59 p.m. – 10:30 p.m. only)

Other Members

Len Taylor, Pat Atkinson, Doyle Vermette, Buckley Belanger

2. The Chair presided over the election of a Deputy Chair. Mr. Quennell was nominated for the position. There being no further nominations, it was moved by Ms. Higgins:

That Frank Quennell be elected to preside as Deputy Chair of the Standing Committee on Intergovernmental Affairs and Justice.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

3. The Chair advised the committee that, pursuant to Rule 146(1), the Estimates and Supplementary Estimates for the following ministries and agencies were deemed referred to the committee on March 31, 2011:

| Vote 73 | Corrections, Public Safety and Policing |
|--------------|---|
| Vote 25, 163 | First Nations and Métis Relations |
| Vote 3 | Justice and Attorney General |
| Vote 30 | Municipal Affairs |
| Vote 85 | Office of the Provincial Capital Commission |
| Vote 27 | Tourism, Parks, Culture and Sport |

4. The committee considered the Estimates and Supplementary Estimates for the Ministry of Corrections, Public Safety and Policing.

The following Corrections, Public Safety and Policing Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. D. F. (Yogi) Huyghebaert, Minister

Al Hilton, Deputy Minister

Mae Boa, Assistant Deputy Minister, Corporate Services and Public Safety

Margaret Anderson, Executive Director, Corporate Services and Public Safety

Bob Kary, Executive Director, Young Offender Programs

Tammy Kirkland, Executive Director, Adult Corrections

Murray Sawatsky, Executive Director, Policing Services Division

Tom Young, Executive Director, Protection and Emergency Services

5. The following document was tabled:

IAJ 18/26 - **Ministry of Corrections, Public Safety and Policing:** Chart indicating how many positions have been provided to police services for the targeted enforcement programs, no date.

- 6. The committee adjourned consideration of the Estimates and Supplementary Estimates for the Ministry of Corrections, Public Safety and Policing.
- 7. The committee recessed from 5:03 p.m. until 6:59 p.m.
- 8. The committee considered the Estimates for the Ministry of First Nations and Métis Relations.

The following First Nations and Métis Relations Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. Ken Cheveldayoff, Minister

Ron Crowe, Deputy Minister

James Froh, Assistant Deputy Minister, First Nations and Métis Relations

Toby Greschner, Assistant Deputy Minister, Northern Affairs Division

Trisha Delormier-Hill, Executive Director, Lands and Resources

Doug Howorko, Executive Director, Northern Affairs Division, Northern Regional Economic Development

Mark LaRocque, Executive Director, Northern Affairs Division, Northern Social Development Seonaid MacPherson, Executive Director, Strategic Initiatives

Giselle Marcotte, Executive Director, Aboriginal Policy and Operations

Richard Turkheim, Executive Director, Northern Affairs Division, Northern Industry and Resource Development

Kerry Gray, Director, Finance, Accountability and Corporate Services

- 9. The committee adjourned consideration of the Estimates for the Ministry of First Nations and Métis Relations.
- 10. The committee adjourned at 10:30 p.m. to the call of the Chair.

| Kathy Burianyk | Warren Michelson | |
|----------------|------------------|--|