STANDING COMMITTEE ON INTERGOVERNMENTAL AFFAIRS AND JUSTICE Friday, April 30, 2010

MINUTE NO. 29 1:00 p.m. – Legislative Chamber

1. **Present**: Warren Michelson in the Chair and Members, Greg Brkich, Michael Chisholm, Wayne Elhard, Deb Higgins, Delbert Kirsch, and Kim Trew.

Other Members

Frank Quennell, Warren McCall

2. The committee considered Estimates for the Ministry of Municipal Affairs.

The following Municipal Affairs Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. Jeremy Harrison, Minister

Van Isman, Deputy Minister

Kirby Wright, Assistant Deputy Minister

Keith Comstock, Executive Director, Strategy and Sector Relations

John Edwards, Executive Director, Policy Development

Russ Krywulak, Executive Director, Grants Administration and Financial Management

Wanda Lamberti, Executive Director, Central Management Services

Kyle Toffan, Director, Grants Administration

Wade Armstrong, Chairman, Saskatchewan Municipal Board

3. The committee concluded its consideration of the Estimates for the Ministry of Municipal Affairs. On motion of Mr. Elhard:

Resolved, That there be granted to Her Majesty for the twelve months ending March 31, 2011 the following sum:

For Municipal Affairs\$372,597,000

4. The committee concluded its consideration of the Supplementary Estimates for the Ministry of Municipal Affairs. On motion of Mr. Chisholm:

Resolved, That there be granted to Her Majesty for the twelve months ending March 31, 2010 the following sum:

For Municipal Affairs\$77,731,000

- 5. The committee recessed from 3:28 p.m. until 3:37 p.m.
- 6. The committee considered the Estimates for the Ministry of Justice and Attorney General.

The Justice and Attorney General Minister and the following officials appeared before the committee and answered questions.

Witnesses

Hon. Don Morgan, Minister

Gerald Tegart, Deputy Minister of Justice and Deputy Attorney General

Lee Anne Schienbein, Executive Assistant to the Deputy Minister

Ken Acton, Assistant Deputy Minister, Courts and Civil Justice

Rod Crook, Assistant Deputy Minister, Regulatory Services

Susan Amrud, Executive Director, Public Law

Rick Hischebett, Executive Director, Civil Law

Jan Turner, Executive Director, Community Justice

Daryl Rayner, Executive Director, Public Prosecutions

Dave Tulloch, Executive Director, Corporate Services

Dorothy Riviere, Executive Director, Human Resources, Public Service Commission

Dave Wild, Chair, Saskatchewan Financial Services Commission

Lionel McNabb, Director of Family Justice Services, Courts and Civil Justice

Pat Thiele, Director of Victims Services, Community Justice

Jeff Markewich, Director of Assurance and Financial Reporting, Corporate Services

Dale Tesarowski, Crown Counsel, Policy, Planning and Evaluation

Dave Gullickson, Senior Policy Analyst, Policy, Planning and Evaluation

Hon. Judge David M. Arnot, Chief Commissioner, Saskatchewan Human Rights Commission

Rebecca McLellan, Manager, Operations, Saskatchewan Human Rights Commission

7. The committee concluded its consideration of the Estimates for the Ministry of Justice and Attorney General. On motion of Mr. Elhard:

Resolved, That there be granted to Her Majesty for the twelve months ending March 31, 2011 the following sum:

For Justice and Attorney General\$132,213,000

- 8. The committee recessed from 4:24 p.m. until 4:44 p.m.
- 9. The committee considered the Estimates for the Office of the Provincial Capital Commission.

The Office of the Provincial Capital Commission Minister and the following officials appeared before the committee and answered questions.

Witnesses

Hon. Dustin Duncan, Minister

Rick Mantey, Interim Chief Executive Officer

Wanda Lamberti, Executive Director, Central Management Services, Municipal Affairs

10. The committee concluded its consideration of the Estimates for the Office of the Provincial Capital Commission. On motion of Mr. Kirsch:

Resolved, That there be granted to Her Majesty for the twelve months ending March 31, 2011 the following sum:

Kathy Burianyk Committee Clerk	Warren Michelson Committee Chair
12. The committee adjourned at 5:17 p.m. to the cal	ll of the Chair.
The question being put, it was agreed to.	
That this committee do now adjourn.	
11. It was moved by Mr. Brkich:	