STANDING COMMITTEE ON INTERGOVERNMENTAL AFFAIRS AND JUSTICE Monday, May 5, 2008

MINUTE NO. 8 2:48 p.m. – Chamber

1. **Present**: Delbert Kirsch in the Chair and Members Fred Bradshaw, Greg Brkich, Michael Chisholm, Rod Gantefoer*, Deb Higgins, Joceline Schriemer and Trent Wotherspoon.

Substituting Member

Rod Gantefoer for Michael Chisholm (for consideration of Bill No. 23)

Other Members

Pat Atkinson, Buckley Belanger, Darcy Furber, John Nilson, Jim Reiter, Kim Trew

2. The committee considered Estimates for the Ministry of Municipal Affairs.

The following Municipal Affairs Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. Bill Hutchinson, Minister

Harley Olsen, Deputy Minister

Maryellen Carlson, Assistant Deputy Minister

John Edwards, Executive Director, Policy Development

Russ Krywulak, Executive Director, Grants Administration and Financial Management

Wanda Lamberti, Executive Director, Central Management Services

- 3. The committee adjourned consideration of the Estimates for the Ministry of Municipal Affairs
- 4. The committee recessed from 3:48 p.m. until 4:03 p.m.
- 5. The committee considered Bill No. 23 The Municipal Revenue Sharing Amendment Act, 2008.

The following Municipal Affairs Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. Bill Hutchinson, Minister

Harley Olsen, Deputy Minister

Maryellen Carlson, Assistant Deputy Minister

John Edwards, Executive Director, Policy Development

Russ Krywulak, Executive Director, Grants Administration and Financial Management

Sharon Cooper, Legislation and Regulation Specialist

6. The question being put on clause 1, it was agreed to.

7. During consideration of clause 2, the Hon. Mr. Gantefoer, a member of the Executive Council, having acquainted the committee that His Honour the Lieutenant Governor, having been informed of the subject matter of the amendment, recommends it to the consideration of the Assembly, moved that clause 2 be amended:

Clause 2 of the printed Bill

Amend section 3.971 of *The Municipal Revenue Sharing Act*, as being enacted by Clause 2 of the printed Bill:

- (a) In clause (a) by striking out "\$50,102,000" and substituting "\$54,110,160";
- (b) In clause (b) by striking out "\$22,066,000" and substituting "\$23,830,840"; and
- (c) In clause (b) by striking out "\$47,756,000" and substituting "\$51,577,000".

The question being put on the amendment, it was agreed to.

The question being put on clause 2 as amended, it was agreed to.

- 8. The question being put on clause 3, it was agreed to.
- 9. It was moved by Mr. Brkich:

That the committee report Bill No. 23 – The Municipal Revenue Sharing Amendment Act, 2008 – with amendment.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

- 10. The committee recessed from 4:09 p.m. until 4:19 p.m.
- 11. The committee considered Bill No. 33 The Active Families Benefit Act.

The following Tourism, Parks, Culture and Sport Minister and official appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. Christine Tell, Minister Van Isman, Deputy Minister

- 12. The questions being put on clauses 1 to 7, they were agreed to.
- 13. It was moved by Mr. Chisholm:

That the committee report Bill No. 33 – The Active Families Benefit Act – without amendment.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

- 14. The committee recessed from 4:49 p.m. until 7:15 p.m.
- 15. The committee considered Bill No. 37 The Parks Amendment Act, 2008.

The following Tourism, Parks, Culture and Sport Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. Christine Tell, Minister Van Isman, Deputy Minister Sharon Wood, Manager, Planning and Cultural Resource Management Unit Ken Lozinsky, Assistant Executive Director Jim Nick, Park Management Specialist

- 16. The committee adjourned consideration of Bill No. 37 The Parks Amendment Act, 2008.
- 17. It was moved by Ms. Schriemer:

That this committee do now adjourn.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

18. The committee adjourned at 8:45 p.m. to the call of the Chair.

	Delbert Kirsch	
Aargaret Woods Committee Clerk	Delbert Kirsen	