STANDING COMMITTEE ON INTERGOVERNMENTAL AFFAIRS AND JUSTICE Wednesday December 4, 2024

MINUTE NO. 1 9:01 a.m. — māmawapiwin náyati room (Room 8)

1. **Present**: Blaine McLeod in the chair and members Meara Conway,* Racquel Hilbert, the Hon. Jamie Martens, Jordan McPhail,* Vicki Mowat,* and the Hon. Alana Ross.

Substituting Members

Meara Conway for Jacqueline Roy Jordan McPhail for Leroy Laliberte Vicki Mowat for Betty Nippi-Albright

2. The Committee Clerk presided over the election of a Chair. Blaine McLeod was nominated for the position. There being no further nominations, it was moved by the Hon. Alana Ross:

That Blaine McLeod be elected to preside as Chair of the Standing Committee on Intergovernmental Affairs and Justice.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

3. The Chair presided over the election of a Deputy Chair. Betty Nippi-Albright was nominated for the position. There being no further nominations, it was moved by Vicki Mowat:

That Betty Nippi-Albright be elected to preside as Deputy Chair of the Standing Committee on Intergovernmental Affairs and Justice.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

4. It was moved by the Hon. Alana Ross:

That a steering committee be appointed to establish an agenda and priority of business for subsequent meetings and that the membership be comprised of the Chair and Deputy Chair; and further,

That the steering committee shall meet from time to time as directed by the committee or at the call of the Chair, that the presence of all members of the steering committee is necessary to constitute a meeting, and that substitutions from the membership of the Standing Committee on Intergovernmental Affairs and Justice be permitted on the steering committee.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

5. The following documents were tabled:

Fourth session of the twenty-ninth legislature Law Clerk and Parliamentary Counsel: 2023 list of regulations filed

(Addendum to IAJ 15-29)

First session of the thirtieth legislature

Ministry of Government Relations: responses to questions raised at the April 22 and 29, 2024 meetings, dated May 16, 2024

(IAJ 1-30)

6. It was moved by the Hon. Alana Ross:

That this committee do now adjourn.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

7. The committee adjourned at 9:07 a.m. to the call of the Chair.

Miranda Gudereit Committee Clerk Blaine McLeod Chair