## STANDING COMMITTEE ON INTERGOVERNMENTAL AFFAIRS AND JUSTICE Wednesday, April 26, 2023

## MINUTE NO. 25 3:30 p.m. — Legislative Chamber

1. **Present**: Terry Dennis in the chair and members Meara Conway,\* Todd Goudy,\* Erika Ritchie, Gary Grewal, Daryl Harrison,\* Travis Keisig, Lisa Lambert, Tim McLeod, Betty Nippi-Albright,\* and Greg Ottenbreit.

## **Substituting Members**

Meara Conway for Erika Ritchie (3:30 p.m. – 4:36 p.m.) Todd Goudy for Gary Grewal (6:04 p.m. – 9:58 p.m.) Daryl Harrison for Greg Ottenbreit (3:30 p.m. – 7:45 p.m) Betty Nippi-Albright for Erika Ritchie (7:07 p.m. – 8:04 p.m.)

2. The committee considered the estimates and supplementary estimates no. 2 for the Ministry of Government Relations.

The Minister of Government Relations and the following officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

## Witnesses

Ministry of Government Relations Hon. Don McMorris, Minister Laurier Donais, Deputy Minister Sheldon Green, Assistant Deputy Minister, Municipal Relations Giselle Marcotte, Assistant Deputy Minister, First Nations, Métis and Northern Affairs Jeff Markewich, Assistant Deputy Minister, Central Services and Standards Susan Carani, Executive Director, Lands and Consultation Bonnie Chambers, Executive Director, Advisory Services and Municipal Relations Heather Evans, Executive Director, Corporate Services Alethea Foster, Executive Director, Indigenous and Northern Relations William Hawkins, Executive Director, Building and Technical Standards Brad Henry, Executive Director, Northern Municipal Services Ralph Leibel, Executive Director, Community Planning Rod Nasewich, Executive Director, Policy and Program Services Iryna Soloduk, Executive Director, Municipal Infrastructure and Finance **Provincial Capital Commission** Jenna Schroeder, Executive Director Ryan Whippler, Director, Outreach and Visitor Experience

- 3. The committee adjourned consideration of the estimates and supplementary estimates no. 2 for the Ministry of Government Relations.
- 4. The committee considered Bill No. 104, The Local Improvements Amendment Act, 2022.

The Minister of Government Relations and the following officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

<u>Witnesses</u> Hon. Don McMorris, Minister Laurier Donais, Deputy Minister Rod Nasewich, Executive Director, Policy and Program Services Andrea Ulrich, Director, Legislation and Regulations

- 5. The questions being put on clauses 1 to 31, they were agreed to.
- 6. It was moved by Mr. McLeod:

That the committee report Bill No. 104, *The Local Improvements Amendment Act, 2022* without amendment.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

7. The committee considered Bill No. 105, The Local Government Election Amendment Act, 2022.

The Minister of Government Relations and the following officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

<u>Witnesses</u> Hon. Don McMorris, Minister Laurier Donais, Deputy Minister Rod Nasewich, Executive Director, Policy and Program Services Andrea Ulrich, Director, Legislation and Regulations

- 8. The question being put on clauses 1 to 51, they were agreed to.
- 9. It was moved by Ms. Lambert:

That the committee report Bill No. 105, *The Local Government Election Amendment Act*, 2022 without amendment.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

10. It was moved by Mr. Keisig:

That this committee do now adjourn.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

13. The committee adjourned at 9:58 p.m. until

Anne Drake Committee Clerk Terry Dennis Chair