STANDING COMMITTEE ON INTERGOVERNMENTAL AFFAIRS AND JUSTICE Tuesday, April 25, 2023

MINUTE NO. 24 3:30 p.m. — Legislative Chamber

1. **Present**: Terry Dennis in the chair and members Gary Grewal, Terry Jenson,* Travis Keisig, Lisa Lambert, Tim McLeod, Greg Ottenbreit, and Nicole Sarauer.*

Substituting Members

Terry Jenson for Gary Grewal (3:30 p.m. – 5:07 p.m.) Nicole Sarauer for Erika Ritchie

2. The committee considered the estimates and supplementary estimates no. 2 for the Ministry of Justice and Attorney General and the estimates for Integrated Justice Services.

The Minister of Justice and Attorney General and the following officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. Bronwyn Eyre, Minister
Kylie Head, Acting Deputy Minister
Tony Gerein, Assistant Deputy Attorney General, Public Prosecutions
Drew Wilby, Assistant Deputy Minister, Community Engagement
Max Bilson, Acting Assistant Deputy Attorney General, Legal Services
Mindy Gudmundson, Acting Assistant Deputy Minister, Courts and Community Justice
Greg Gudelot, Executive Director, Public Complaints Commission
Clive Weighill, Chief Coroner, Saskatchewan Coroners Service
Mitch McAdam, Director, Constitutional Law
Lionel McNabb, Director, Family Justice Services

- 3. The committee adjourned consideration of the estimates and supplementary estimates no. 2 for the Ministry of Justice and Attorney General and the estimates for Integrated Justice Services.
- 4. The committee recessed from 5:31 p.m. until 5:45 p.m.
- 5. The committee considered the estimates and supplementary estimates no. 2 for the Ministry of Corrections, Policing and Public Safety and Firearms Secretariat.

The Minister of Corrections, Policing and Public Safety and the following officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Ministry of Corrections, Policing and Public Safety Hon. Christine Tell, Minister Dale Larsen, Deputy Minister Rob Cameron, Assistant Deputy Minister, Policing and Community Safety Services Heather Scriver, Assistant Deputy Minister, Custody, Supervision and Rehabilitation Services Drew Wilby, Assistant Deputy Minister, Community Engagement Division Dean Carey, Executive Director, Offender Services Mindy Gudmundson, Executive Director, Strategic Portfolio and Fiscal Planning Curtis Kosolofski, Executive Director, Police Contracts and Financial Services Mark McFadyen, Executive Director, Custody Services Jeff Rowden, Executive Director, Provincial Protective Services Bob Freberg, Chief Firearms Officer Joelle Aldridge, Director, Major Projects Jill Rowden, Executive Assistant to the Deputy Minister Saskatchewan Public Safety Agency Marlo Pritchard, President Teresa Florizone, Chief Financial Officer and Vice-President, Corporate Services Michelle Broda, Executive Director, Finance and Corporate Services Charlene Luskey, Executive Director, Emergency Communications Noel McAvena, Executive Director, Provincial Disaster Assistance Program

- 6. The committee adjourned consideration of the estimates and supplementary estimates no. 2 for the Ministry of Corrections, Policing and Public Safety and Firearms Secretariat.
- 7. The committee recessed from 8:46 p.m. until 8:50 p.m.
- 8. The committee considered Bill No. 99, The Emergency 911 System Amendment Act, 2022.

The Minister of Corrections, Policing and Public Safety and the following officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

<u>Witnesses</u> Ministry of Corrections, Policing and Public Safety Hon. Christine Tell, Minister Dale Larsen, Deputy Minister Saskatchewan Public Safety Agency Marlo Pritchard, President

- 9. The questions being put on clauses 1 to 16, they were agreed to.
- 10. It was moved by Mr. Grewal:

That the committee report Bill No. 99, *The Emergency 911 System Amendment Act, 2022* without amendment.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

11. The committee considered Bill No. 118, The Warrant Compliance Act.

The Minister of Corrections, Policing and Public Safety and the following officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Ministry of Corrections, Policing and Public Safety Hon. Christine Tell, Minister Dale Larsen, Deputy Minister Rob Cameron, Assistant Deputy Minister, Policing and Community Safety Scott Harron, Executive Director, Research and Implementation Kara Moen, Crown Counsel Ministry of Social Services Devon Exner, Assistant Deputy Minister, Income Assistance

- 12. The questions being put on clauses 1 to 9, they were agreed to.
- 13. It was moved by Mr. Keisig:

That the committee report Bill No. 118, The Warrant Compliance Act without amendment.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

14. It was moved by Mr. McLeod:

That this committee do now adjourn.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

13. The committee adjourned at 9:19 p.m. until Wednesday, April 26, 2023 at 3:30 p.m.

Anne Drake Committee Clerk Terry Dennis Chair