STANDING COMMITTEE ON INTERGOVERNMENTAL AFFAIRS AND JUSTICE Wednesday, November 30, 2022

MINUTE NO. 20

4:45 p.m. — māmawapiwin náyati room (Room 8)

1. **Present**: Terry Dennis in the chair and members Gary Grewal, Travis Keisig, Lisa Lambert, Vicki Mowat,* Hugh Nerlien,* and Greg Ottenbreit.

Substituting Members

Hugh Nerlien for Tim McLeod Vicki Mowat for Erika Ritchie

2. The Chair advised the committee that pursuant to rule 148(1) the following supplementary estimates no. 1 were committed to the Standing Committee on Intergovernmental Affairs and Justice on November 29, 2022:

2022-23 Supplementary Estimates No. 1

Vote 73 Corrections, Policing and Public Safety

Vote 30 Government Relations Vote 27 Parks, Culture and Sport

3. The committee considered the supplementary estimates no. 1 for the Ministry of Government Relations.

The Minister of Government Relations and the following officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. Don McMorris, Minister

Laurier Donais, Deputy Minister

Sheldon Green, Assistant Deputy Minister, Municipal Relations

Giselle Marcotte, Assistant Deputy Minister, First Nations, Métis and Northern Affairs

Jeff Markewich, Assistant Deputy Minister, Central Services and Standards

Heather Evans, Executive Director, Corporate Services

Iryna Soloduk, Executive Director, Municipal Infrastructure and Finance

Chuck Fink, Director, Corporate Services

4. The committee concluded consideration of the supplementary estimates no. 1 for the Ministry of Government Relations. On motion of Mr. Ottenbreit:

Resolved, that there be granted to His Majesty for the twelve months ending March 31, 2023 the following sum:

5. The committee recessed from 5:05 p.m. until 5:07 p.m.

6. The committee considered the supplementary estimates no. 1 for the Ministry of Parks, Culture and Sport.

The Minister of Parks, Culture and Sport and the following officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. Laura Ross, Minister
Twyla MacDougall, Deputy Minister
Darin Banadyga, Executive Director, Sport, Culture and Recreation
Dan French, Assistant Deputy Minister, Stewardship

Myron Soloduk, Director, Corporate Services

7. The committee concluded consideration of the estimates for the Ministry of Parks, Culture and Sport. On motion of Ms. Keisig:

Resolved, that there be granted to Her Majesty for the twelve months ending March 31, 2023 the following sum:

- 8. The committee recessed from 5:45 p.m. until 5:50 p.m.
- 9. The committee considered the supplementary estimates no. 1 for the Ministry of Corrections, Policing and Public Safety.

The Minister of Corrections, Policing and Public Safety and the following officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Ministry of Corrections, Policing and Public Safety

Hon. Christine Tell, Minister

Dale Larsen, Deputy Minister

Rob Cameron, Assistant Deputy Minister, Policing

Noel Busse, Executive Director, Communications

Heather Scriver, Assistant Deputy Minister, Corrections

Mindy Gudmundson, Executive Director, Corporate Services

Curtis Kosolofski, Executive Director, Policing Contracts and Financial Services

Noel McAvena, Executive Director, Provincial Disaster Assistance Program

Mark McFadyen, Executive Director, Custody Services

James Githegi, Director, Financial and Resource Management

Saskatchewan Public Safety Agency

Marlo Pritchard, President

Teresa Florizone, Vice President, Corporate Services

Steve Roberts, Vice President, Operations

Michelle Broda, Executive Director, Finance and Corporate Services

Christopher Clement, Executive Director, Projects and Public Relations

10. The committee concluded consideration of the supplement Corrections, Policing and Public Safety. On motion of Mr. Co.	
Resolved, that there be granted to His Majesty for the ty following sum:	welve months ending March 31, 2023 the
For Corrections, Policing and Public Safety	\$50,774,000
11. It was moved by Mr. Nerlien:	
That the fourth report of the Standing Committee on ladopted and presented to the Assembly.	Intergovernmental Affairs and Justice be
The question being put, it was agreed to.	
12. It was moved by Ms. Lambert:	
That this committee do now adjourn.	
The question being put, it was agreed to.	
13. The committee adjourned at 6:25 p.m. to the call of the Chai	r.
Anne Drake Committee Clerk	Terry Dennis Chair