STANDING COMMITTEE ON INTERGOVERNMENTAL AFFAIRS AND JUSTICE Tuesday, April 12, 2022

MINUTE NO. 12

3:16 p.m. — māmawapiwin náyati room (Room 8)

1. **Present**: Mark Docherty in the chair and members Gary Grewal, Travis Keisig, Lisa Lambert, Tim McLeod, Greg Ottenbreit, and Nicole Sarauer.*

Substituting Members

Nicole Sarauer for Betty-Nippi Albright

2. The committee considered the estimates and supplementary estimates no. 2 for the Ministry of Justice and Attorney General and the estimates for Integrated Justice Services.

The Minister of Justice and Attorney General and the following officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Ministry of Justice and Attorney General

Hon. Gordon Wyant, Minister

Glen Gardner, Deputy Minister

Tony Gerein, Assistant Deputy Attorney General, Public Prosecutions

Kylie Head, Assistant Deputy Attorney General, Administrative Justice and Strategic Relations

Jan Turner, Assistant Deputy Minister, Courts and Tribunals

Shannon Williams, Assistant Deputy Attorney General, Justice Services

Linda Zarzeczny, Assistant Deputy Attorney General, Legal Services Division

Glennis Bihun, Executive Director, Court Services

Lionel McNabb, Director, Family Justice Services

Kelly Onyskevitch, Deputy Director, Criminal Property Forfeiture

Clive Weighill, Chief Coroner, Saskatchewan Coroners Service

Mitch McAdam, Crown Counsel, Constitutional Law

Theresia Cooper, Legal Counsel

Integrated Justice Services

Drew Wilby, Assistant Deputy Minister, Community Engagement

Noel Busse, Executive Director, Communications

Monica Field, Executive Director, Strategic Systems and Innovation

Mindy Gudmundson, Executive Director, Strategic Portfolio and Fiscal Planning

Aaron Orban, Executive Director, Access and Privacy

- 3. The committee adjourned consideration of the estimates and supplementary estimates no. 2 for the Ministry of Justice and Attorney General and the estimates for Integrated Justice Services.
- 4. The committee recessed from 5:15 p.m. until 6:01 p.m.
- 5. The committee considered the estimates and supplementary estimates no. 2 for the Ministry of Corrections, Policing and Public Safety and the estimates for Firearms Secretariat.

The Minister of Corrections, Policing and Public Safety and the following officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Ministry of Corrections, Policing and Public Safety

Hon. Christine Tell. Minister

Dale Larsen, Deputy Minister, Corrections, Policing and Public Safety

Rob Cameron, Assistant Deputy Minister, Policing and Community Safety Services

Heather Scriver, Assistant Deputy Minister, Custody, Supervision and Rehabilitation Services

Rae Gallivan, Executive Director, Police Contracts and Financial Services

Caroline Graves, Executive Director, Community Corrections

Cory Lerat, Executive Director, First Nations and Indigenous Policing

Noel McAvena, Executive Director, Provincial Disaster Assistance Program

Mark McFadyen, Executive Director, Custody Services

Jeff Rowden, Executive Director, Provincial Protective Services

Joelle Aldridge, Director, Major Projects

Merv Moran, Director, First Nations and Indigenous Policing

Integrated Justice Services

Drew Wilby, Assistant Deputy Minister, Community Engagement

Noel Busse, Executive Director, Communications

Monica Field, Executive Director, Strategic Systems and Innovation

Mindy Gudmundson, Executive Director, Strategic Portfolio and Fiscal Planning

Aaron Orban, Executive Director, Access and Privacy

Saskatchewan Public Safety Agency

Marlo Pritchard, President

Teresa Florizone, Vice President, Corporate Services

Michelle Broda, Executive Director, Finance and Corporate Services

Chris Clemett, Executive Director, Enterprise Projects and External Relations

Firearms Secretariat

Robert Freberg, Chief Firearms Officer

- 6. The committee adjourned consideration of the estimates and supplementary estimates no. 2 for the Ministry of Corrections, Policing and Public Safety and the estimates for Firearms Secretariat.
- 7. It was moved by Mr. Grewal:

That this committee do now adjourn.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

8. The committee adjourned at 9:02 p.m. until Tuesday, April 13, 2022 at 3:15 p.m.

Anne Drake	Mark Docherty	
Committee Clerk	Chair	