STANDING COMMITTEE ON INTERGOVERNMENTAL AFFAIRS AND JUSTICE Monday, April 11, 2022

MINUTE NO. 11

3:15 p.m. — māmawapiwin náyati room (Room 8)

1. **Present**: Mark Docherty in the chair and members Carla Beck,* Jennifer Bowes,* Gary Grewal, Travis Keisig, Lisa Lambert, Matt Love,* Tim McLeod, Greg Ottenbreit, and Nicole Sarauer.*

Substituting Members

Carla Beck for Betty Nippi-Albright (3:15 p.m. – 4:13 p.m.) Jennifer Bowes for Betty-Nippi Albright (6:00 p.m. – 6:58 p.m.) Matt Love for Betty Nippi-Albright (6:58 p.m. – 8:58 p.m.) Nicole Sarauer for Betty-Nippi Albright (4:13 – 5:14 p.m.)

2. The Chair advised the committee that pursuant to rule 148(1) the following estimates and supplementary estimates no. 2 were committed to the Standing Committee on Intergovernmental Affairs and Justice on March 31, 2022 and March 23, 2022 respectively:

2022–23 Estimates

Vote 73	Corrections, Policing and Public Safety
Vote 92	Firearms Secretariat
Vote 30	Government Relations
Vote 91	Integrated Justice Services
Vote 3	Justice and Attorney General
Vote 27	Parks, Culture and Sport
Vote 88	Tourism Saskatchewan

2021–22 Supplementary Estimates No. 2

Vote 73	Corrections, Policing and Public Safety
Vote 3	Justice and Attorney General

3. The committee considered the estimates for the Ministry of Government Relations.

The Minister of Government Relations and the following officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Ministry of Government Relations

Hon. Don McMorris, Minister

Greg Miller, Deputy Minister

Laurier Donais, Assistant Deputy Minister, Central Services and Standards

Sheldon Green, Assistant Deputy Minister, Municipal Relations

Susan Carani, Acting Assistant Deputy Minister, First Nations, Métis, Northern Affairs

Alethea Foster, Executive Director, Indigenous and Northern Relations

Brad Henry, Executive Director, Northern Municipal Services

Jeff MacDonald, Executive Director, Municipal Infrastructure and Finance

Jeff Markewich, Executive Director, Corporate Services Rod Nasewich, Executive Director, Policy and Program Services Provincial Capital Commission Jenna Schroeder, Executive Director, Provincial Capital Commission

- 4. The committee adjourned consideration of the estimates for the Ministry of Government Relations.
- 5. The committee recessed from 5:14 p.m. until 6:00 p.m.
- 6. The committee considered the estimates for the Ministry of Parks, Culture and Sport.
- 7. The Minister of Parks, Culture and Sport and the following officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. Laura Ross, Minister
Candace Caswell, Assistant Deputy Minister, Stewardship
Jennifer Johnson, Assistant Deputy Minister, Parks
Jackie Demerse-Abbasi, Executive Director, Status of Women Office
Pam Herbert, Executive Director, Strategic and Corporate Services
Jordan Jackle, Executive Director, Communications and Marketing
Darin Banadyga, Executive Director, Sports, Culture and Recreation
Byron Davis, Executive Director, Park Planning and Facility Management
Mike Roth, Executive Director, Park Management Services
Myron Soloduk, Director, Financial Services

- 8. The committee recessed from 6:58 p.m. until 7:04 p.m.
- 9. The committee resumed consideration of the estimates for the Ministry of Parks, Culture and Sport.
- 10. The committee adjourned consideration of the estimates for the Ministry of Parks, Culture and Sport.
- 11. It was moved by Mr. Ottenbreit:

That this committee do now adjourn.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

12. The committee adjourned at 8:58 p.m. until Tuesday, April 12, 2022 at 3:15 p.m.

Anne Drake	Mark Docherty
Committee Clerk	Chair