STANDING COMMITTEE ON INTERGOVERNMENTAL AFFAIRS AND JUSTICE Monday, April 22, 2024

MINUTE NO. 31 3:31 p.m. — Legislative Chamber

1. **Present**: Terry Dennis in the chair and members Todd Goudy, Gary Grewal, Daryl Harrison,* Travis Keisig, Matt Love,* Blaine McLeod, Betty Nippi-Albright,* Nicole Sarauer, and Doyle Vermette.*

Substituting Members

Daryl Harrison for Blaine McLeod (6:58 p.m. – 9:00 p.m.) Matt Love for Erika Ritchie (6:58 p.m. – 9:00 p.m.) Betty Nippi-Albright for Erika Ritchie (3:31 p.m. – 6:01 p.m.) Doyle Vermette for Nicole Sarauer (3:31 p.m. – 6:01 p.m.)

2. The committee considered the estimates and supplementary estimates no. 2 for the Ministry of Government Relations.

The Minister of Government Relations and the following officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Ministry of Government Relations Hon. Don McMorris, Minister Sheldon Green, Acting Deputy Minister Giselle Marcotte, Assistant Deputy Minister, First Nations, Métis and Northern Affairs Jeff Markewich, Assistant Deputy Minister, Central Services and Standards Ralph Leibel, Acting Assistant Deputy Minister, Municipal Relations Bonnie Chambers, Executive Director, Advisory Services and Municipal Relations Heather Evans, Executive Director, Corporate Services Alethea Foster, Executive Director, Indigenous and Northern Relations William Hawkins, Executive Director, Building and Technical Standards Brad Henry, Executive Director, Northern Municipal Services Rod Nasewich, Executive Director, Policy and Program Services Iryna Soloduk, Executive Director, Municipal Infrastructure and Finance Abayomi Akintola, Director, Policy and Program Services Sherelyn Caderma, Director, Lands and Consultation Chuck Fink, Director, Corporate Services Jennifer Getz, Director, Municipal Infrastructure and Finance Lonette Pelletier, Director, Lands and Consultation Provincial Capital Commission Jenna Schroeder, Executive Director Ryan Whippler, Director

- 3. The committee adjourned consideration of the estimates and supplementary estimates no. 2 for the Ministry of Government Relations.
- 4. The committee recessed from 6:01 p.m. until 6:58 p.m.

The Minister of Corrections, Policing and Public Safety and the following officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Ministry of Corrections, Policing and Public Safety
Hon. Paul Merriman, Minister
Dale Larsen, Deputy Minister
Josh Freistadt, Assistant Deputy Minister, Supervision and Rehabilitation Services
Scott Harron, Assistant Deputy Minister, Custody Services
Corey Zaharuk, Assistant Deputy Minister, Policing and Community Safety Services
Wanda Lamberti, Acting Assistant Deputy Minister, Corporate Services
Saskatchewan Public Safety Agency
Marlo Pritchard, President
Saskatchewan Firearms Office
Murray Cowan, Deputy Commissioner and Chief Firearms Officer

5. The following document was tabled:

Minister of Finance: Correspondence re: financial commitment to RCMP, dated March 28, 2024 (IAJ 20-29)

- 6. The committee adjourned consideration of the estimates and supplementary estimates no. 2 for the Ministry of Corrections, Policing and Public Safety.
- 7. It was moved by Mr. Goudy:

That this committee do now adjourn.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

8. The committee adjourned at 9:00 p.m. until Tuesday, April 23, 2024 at 3:30 p.m.