STANDING COMMITTEE ON INTERGOVERNMENTAL AFFAIRS AND JUSTICE Wednesday, April 26, 2017

MINUTE NO. 14

3:17 p.m. — māmawapiwin náyati room (Room 8)

1. **Present**: Greg Brkich in the chair and members Carla Beck,* David Buckingham,* Nancy Heppner, Lisa Lambert, Warren McCall,* Eric Olauson, Doug Steele, and Warren Steinley.

Substituting Members

Carla Beck for Doyle Vermette (3:58 p.m. – 4:59 p.m.) David Buckingham for Eric Olauson (3:58 p.m. – 4:59 p.m.) Warren McCall for Doyle Vermette (3:17 p.m. – 3:52 p.m.)

Other Members

Carla Beck

2. The committee considered the estimates for Tourism Saskatchewan.

The Minister Responsible for Tourism Saskatchewan and the following officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. Jeremy Harrison, Minister

Mary Taylor-Ash, Chief Executive Officer

Veronica Gelowitz, Chief Financial Officer and Executive Director, Corporate Services

Ken Dueck, Executive Director, Industry and Community Development

Jonathan Potts, Director, Marketing and Communication

- 3. The committee adjourned consideration of the estimates for the Tourism Saskatchewan.
- 4. The committee recessed from 3:52 p.m. until 3:58 p.m.
- 5. The committee considered Bill No. 48, *The Education Property Tax Act*.

The Minister of Government Relations and the following officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Ministry of Government Relations

Hon. Donna Harpauer, Minister

Tammy Kirkland, Deputy Minister

John Edwards, Executive Director, Policy and Program Services

Monica Chu, Senior Property Tax and Assessment Policy Analyst

Allan Laird, Senior Policy Analyst

Ministry of Finance

Larry Jacobson, Director, Tax Information & Compliance, Revenue Division, Finance Brian Warbey, Audit Manager, Revenue Division, Finance

6. The questions being put on clauses 1 to 31, they were agreed to.

7. It was moved by Mr. Steele:

That the committee report Bill No. 48, *The Education Property Tax Act*, 2016 without amendment.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

8. The committee considered Bill No. 49, *The Education Property Tax Consequential Amendment Act,* 2017/Loi de 2017 portant modifications corrélatives à la loi intitulée The Education Property Tax Act.

The Minister of Government Relations and the following officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Ministry of Government Relations

Hon. Donna Harpauer, Minister

Tammy Kirkland, Deputy Minister

John Edwards, Executive Director, Policy and Program Services

Monica Chu, Senior Property Tax and Assessment Policy Analyst

Allan Laird, Senior Policy Analyst

Ministry of Finance

Larry Jacobson, Director, Tax Information & Compliance, Revenue Division, Finance Brian Warbey, Audit Manager, Revenue Division, Finance

- 9. The questions being put on clauses 1 to 12, they were agreed to.
- 10. It was moved by Ms. Lambert:

That the committee report Bill No. 49, *The Education Property Tax Consequential Amendment Act, 2017/Loi de 2017 portant modifications corrélatives à la loi intitulée The Education Property Tax Act* without amendment.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

11. It was moved by Ms. Heppner:

That this committee do now adjourn.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

12. The committee adjourned at 4:59 p.m. until Monday, May 1, 2017 at 6:30 p.m.

Rob Park	Greg Brkich
Committee Clerk	Chair