STANDING COMMITTEE ON INTERGOVERNMENTAL AFFAIRS AND JUSTICE Monday, April 20, 2015

MINUTE NO. 41 2:58 p.m. – Legislative Chamber

1. **Present:** Laura Ross in the Chair and Members June Draude*, Doreen Eagles, D.F. (Yogi) Huyghebaert, Paul Merriman, John Nilson*, Kevin Phillips* and Warren Steinley.

Substituting Members

June Draude for D.F. (Yogi) Huyghebaert (7:00 p.m. until 8:33 p.m. only)

John Nilson for Doyle Vermette

Kevin Phillips for Paul Merriman (7:00 p.m. until 8:33 p.m. only)

Other Members

David Forbes

2. The committee considered the Estimates and Supplementary Estimates (March) for the Ministry of Justice.

The following Ministers and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Ministry of Justice

Hon. Gordon Wyant, Minister of Justice and Attorney General

Hon. Christine Tell, Minister Responsible for Corrections and Policing

Kevin Fenwick, Deputy Minister and Deputy Attorney General

Dale McFee, Deputy Minister, Corrections and Policing

Susan Amrud, Associate Deputy Minister, Public Law Division

Dennis Cooley, Associate Deputy Minister, Custody, Supervision and Rehabilitation

Ron Anderson, Assistant Deputy Minister, Community Safety Outcomes and Corporate Supports

Glen Gardner, Assistant Deputy Minister, Innovation Division

Dale Larsen, Assistant Deputy Minister, Policing and Community Safety Supports

Jan Turner, Assistant Deputy Minister, Court Services Division

Rod Crook, Public Guardian and Trustee

Glennis Bihun, Executive Director, Court Services

Monica Field, Executive Director, Strategic Systems and Innovation

Kylie Head, Executive Director, Innovation Division

Aaron Orban, Executive Director, Access and Privacy

Linsay Rabyj, Executive Director, Communications

Daryl Rayner, Executive Director, Public Prosecutions Division

Brian Rector, Executive Director, Research and Evidence-based Excellence

Pat Thiele, Executive Director, Community Justice Division

Dave Tulloch, Executive Director, Corporate Services

Drew Wilby, Executive Director, Corporate Affairs

Linda Zarzeczny, Executive Director, Civil Law Division

Betty Ann Pottruff, Counsel for Children

Raequel Giles, Director, Continuous Improvement and Executive Operations

Mindy Gudmundson, Director, Corporate Services

Lionel McNabb, Director, Family Justice Services Branch

Frankie Jordan, Senior Policy Analyst, Innovation and Strategic Initiatives Branch

Nadine Barnes, Executive Assistant to the Deputy Minister and Deputy Attorney General

Standing Committee on Intergovernmental Affairs and Justice April 20, 2015

Jeffrey Crawford, Executive Assistant to the Deputy Minister and Deputy Attorney General Financial and Consumer Affairs Authority

Roger Sobotkiewicz, Chair

Legal Aid Saskatchewan

Jerome Boyko, Director

Office of Residential Tenancies

Dale Beck, Director

Public Service Commission

Curtis Goodfellow, Executive Director

- 3. The committee adjourned consideration of the Estimates and Supplementary Estimates (March) for the Ministry of Justice.
- 4. The committee recessed from 5:00 p.m. until 7:00 p.m.
- 5. The committee considered Bill No. 147 The Class Actions Amendment Act, 2014 / Projet de loi nº 147 Loi de 2014 modifiant la Loi sur les recours collectifs.

The following Justice Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. Gordon Wyant, Minister

Darcy McGovern, Director, Legislative Services

Neil Karkut, Crown Counsel, Legislative Services

- 6. The questions being put on Clauses 1 to 3, they were agreed to.
- 7. It was moved by Mr. Phillips:

That the committee report Bill No. 147 – The Class Actions Amendment Act, 2014 / Projet de loi nº 147 – Loi de 2014 modifiant la Loi sur les recours collectifs – without amendment.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

8. The committee considered Bill No. 150 – The Residential Tenancies Amendment Act, 2014.

The following Justice Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Ministry of Justice

Hon. Gordon Wyant, Minister

Mary Ellen Wellsch, Senior Crown Counsel, Legislative Services

Office of Residential Tenancies

Dale Beck, Director

- 9. The questions being put on Clauses 1 to 26, they were agreed to.
- 10. It was moved by Ms. Eagles:

That the committee report Bill No. 150 – The Residential Tenancies Amendment Act, 2014 – without amendment.

Standing Committee on Intergovernmental Affairs and Justice April 20, 2015

The question being put, it was agreed to.

11. The committee considered Bill No. 162 – The Enforcement of Money Judgments Amendment Act, 2014.

The following Justice Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. Gordon Wyant, Minister Glennis Bihun, Executive Director, Court Services Darcy McGovern, Director, Legislative Services Karen Banks, Registrar of Titles, Office of the Public Registry Administration

- 12. The questions being put on Clauses 1 to 33, they were agreed to.
- 13. It was moved by Mr. Steinley:

That the committee report Bill No. 162 – The Enforcement of Money Judgments Amendment Act, 2014 – without amendment.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

14. It was moved by Mr. Phillips:

That this committee do now adjourn.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

15. The committee adjourned at 8:33 p.m. to the call of the Chair.

Rob Park	Laura Ross	
Committee Clerk	Committee C	hair
	2	