STANDING COMMITTEE ON INTERGOVERNMENTAL AFFAIRS AND JUSTICE Wednesday, April 15, 2015

MINUTE NO. 40 3:00 p.m. – Māmawapiwin Room (Room 8)

1. **Present:** Laura Ross in the Chair and Members Doreen Eagles, D.F. (Yogi) Huyghebaert, Paul Merriman, Warren Michelson, John Nilson* and Warren Steinley.

Substituting Members

John Nilson for Doyle Vermette

2. The committee considered the Estimates and Supplementary Estimates (March) for the Ministry of Justice.

The following Justice Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Ministry of Justice

Hon. Gordon Wyant, Minister of Justice and Attorney General

Hon. Christine Tell, Minister Responsible for Corrections and Policing

Kevin Fenwick, Deputy Minister and Deputy Attorney General

Dale McFee, Deputy Minister, Corrections and Policing

Susan Amrud, Associate Deputy Minister, Public Law Division

Dennis Cooley, Associate Deputy Minister, Custody, Supervision and Rehabilitation

Ron Anderson, Assistant Deputy Minister, Community Safety Outcomes and Corporate Supports

Glen Gardner, Assistant Deputy Minister, Innovation Division

Dale Larsen, Assistant Deputy Minister, Policing and Community Safety Supports

Jan Turner, Assistant Deputy Minister, Court Services Division

Rod Crook, Public Guardian and Trustee

Glennis Bihun, Executive Director, Court Services

Monica Field, Executive Director, Strategic Systems and Innovation

Kylie Head, Executive Director, Innovation Division

Aaron Orban, Executive Director, Access and Privacy

Linsay Rabyj, Executive Director, Communications

Daryl Rayner, Executive Director, Public Prosecutions Division

Brian Rector, Executive Director, Research and Evidence-based Excellence

Pat Thiele, Executive Director, Community Justice Division

Dave Tulloch, Executive Director, Corporate Services

Drew Wilby, Executive Director, Corporate Affairs

Linda Zarzeczny, Executive Director, Civil Law Division

Betty Ann Pottruff, Counsel for Children

Raequel Giles, Director, Continuous Improvement and Executive Operations

Mindy Gudmundson, Director, Corporate Services

Lionel McNabb, Director, Family Justice Services Branch

Frankie Jordan, Senior Policy Analyst, Innovation and Strategic Initiatives Branch

Nadine Barnes, Executive Assistant to the Deputy Minister and Deputy Attorney General

Jeffrey Crawford, Executive Assistant to the Deputy Minister and Deputy Attorney General

Financial and Consumer Affairs Authority

Roger Sobotkiewicz, Chair

Legal Aid Saskatchewan

Jerome Boyko, Director

Office of Residential Tenancies

Standing Committee on Intergovernmental Affairs and Justice April 15, 2015

Laura Ross

Committee Chair

Dale Beck, Director **Public Service Commission**

	Curtis Goodfellow, Executive Director Saskatchewan Human Rights Commission The Hon. David Arnot, Chief Commissioner
3.	The committee adjourned consideration of the Estimates and Supplementary Estimates (March) for the Ministry of Justice.
4.	The committee adjourned at 5:00 p.m. to the call of the Chair.

2

Rob Park

Committee Clerk