## STANDING COMMITTEE ON INTERGOVERNMENTAL AFFAIRS AND JUSTICE Tuesday, May 14, 2013

# MINUTE NO. 23 3:00 p.m. – Legislative Chamber

1. **Present:** Warren Michelson in the Chair and Members Daryl Hickie\*, D.F. (Yogi) Huyghebaert, John Nilson\*, Rob Norris, Kevin Phillips and Corey Tochor.

### **Substituting Members**

Daryl Hickie for Warren Steinley John Nilson for Doyle Vermette

### **Other Members**

Buckley Belanger, Danielle Chartier

2. The committee considered Bill No. 72 – The Traffic Safety Amendment Act, 2012.

The following Saskatchewan Government Insurance Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

<u>Witnesses</u> Hon. Donna Harpaurer, Minister Earl Cameron, Vice President, Auto Fund Elizabeth Flynn, Legislative Advisor Jennifer Ehmantraut, Assistant Deputy Minister, Ministry of Highways and Infrastructure

- 3. The questions being put on clauses 1 to 11, they were agreed to.
- 4. It was moved by Mr. Norris:

That the committee report Bill No. 72 – The Traffic Safety Amendment Act, 2012 – without amendment.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

5. The committee considered Bill No. 53 – The Miscellaneous Statutes Repeal Act, 2012 (No. 2).

The following Justice Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

### Witnesses

Hon. Gordon Wyant, Minister Brent Brownlee, Director, Universities and Private Vocational Schools Branch Rod Nasewich, Director, Legislation and Regulations Mary Ellen Wellsch, Senior Crown Counsel John Amundson, Corporate Controller Penny McCall, Manager, Crops Branch Monica Chu, Senior Financial Policy Analyst

6. The questions being put on clauses 1 to 14, they were agreed to.

7. It was moved by Mr. Norris:

That the committee report Bill No. 53 – The Miscellaneous Statutes Repeal Act, 2012 (No. 2) – without amendment.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

8. The committee considered Bill No. 54 – The Seizure of Criminal Property Amendment Act, 2012.

The following Justice Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

<u>Witnesses</u> Hon. Gordon Wyant, Minister Darcy McGovern, Director, Legislative Services Branch Tammy Pryznyk, Senior Crown Counsel, Civil Law

- 9. The questions being put on clauses 1 to 10, they were agreed to.
- 10. It was moved by Mr. Phillips:

That the committee report Bill No. 54 – The Seizure of Criminal Property Amendment Act, 2012 – without amendment.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

11. The committee considered Bill No. 55 – The Consumer Protection and Business Practices Act.

The following Justice Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

### Witnesses

Hon. Gordon Wyant, Minister Eric Greene, Director, Consumer Protection Division Mary Ellen Wellsch, Senior Crown Counsel, Legislative Services Branch John Amundson, Corporate Controller

- 12. The questions being put on clauses 1 to 124, they were agreed to.
- 13. It was moved by Mr. Norris:

That the committee report Bill No. 55 – The Consumer Protection and Business Practices Act – without amendment.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

14. It was moved by Mr. Tochor:

That this committee do now adjourn.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

15. The committee adjourned at 4:51 p.m. to the call of the Chair.

Rob Park Committee Clerk Warren Michelson Committee Chair