# STANDING COMMITTEE ON INTERGOVERNMENTAL AFFAIRS AND JUSTICE Monday, May 7, 2012

## MINUTE NO. 9 2:45 p.m. – Legislative Chamber

1. **Present**: Warren Michelson in the Chair and Members David Forbes\*, Kevin Phillips, Cathy Sproule, Warren Steinley, Lyle Stewart, Christine Tell, and Corey Tochor.

### **Substituting Members**

David Forbes for Cathy Sproule (from 2:45 p.m. to 3:57 p.m. only)

#### **Other Members**

Doyle Vermette

2. The committee considered Bill No. 19 – The Assessment Appraisers Amendment Act, 2011.

The following Municipal Affairs Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

### Witnesses

Hon. Daryl Hickie, Minister
Van Isman, Deputy Minister
John Edwards, Executive Director, Policy Development
Ralph Leibel, Executive Director, Community Planning
Rod Nasewich, Director, Policy and Legislation
Martino Verhaeghe, Manager, Provincial Interest

- 3. The questions being put on clauses 1 to 22, they were agreed to.
- 4. It was moved by Ms. Tell:

That the committee report Bill No.19 – The Assessment Appraisers Amendment Act, 2011 – without amendment.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

5. The committee considered Bill No. 20 – The Planning and Development Amendment Act, 2011.

The following Municipal Affairs Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

### Witnesses

Hon. Daryl Hickie, Minister Van Isman, Deputy Minister Ralph Leibel, Executive Director, Community Planning Martino Verhaeghe, Manager, Provincial Interest

6. The questions being put on clauses 1 to 39, they were agreed to.

7. It was moved by Mr. Steinley:

That the committee report Bill No. 20 – The Planning and Development Amendment Act, 2011 – without amendment.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

8. The committee considered Bill No. 41 – The Miscellaneous Statutes (Municipal Affairs – Municipal Taxation) Amendment Act, 2012.

The following Municipal Affairs Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

### Witnesses

Hon. Daryl Hickie, Minister Van Isman, Deputy Minister John Edwards, Executive Director, Policy Development Branch Norman Magnin, Director, Property Assessment and Taxation Rod Nasewich, Director, Policy and Legislation

- 9. The questions being put on clauses 1 to 5, they were agreed to.
- 10. It was moved by Mr. Phillips:

That the committee report Bill No. 41 – The Miscellaneous Statutes (Municipal Affairs – Municipal Taxation) Amendment Act, 2012 – without amendment.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

- 11. The committee recessed from 3:57 p.m. until 7:00 p.m.
- 12. The committee considered Bill No. 37 The Tourism Saskatchewan Act.

The following Tourism, Parks, Culture and Sport Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

#### Witnesses

Hon. Bill Hutchinson, Minister Wynne Young, Deputy Minister Lin Gallagher, Associate Deputy Minister Travis McLellan, Senior Tourism Analyst

- 13. The committee adjourned its consideration of Bill No. 37 The Tourism Saskatchewan Act.
- 14. It was moved by Mr. Stewart:

That this committee do now adjourn.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

15. The committee adjourned at 9:04 p.m. until May 8, 2012 at 7:00 p.m.			
Rob Park		Warren Michelson	
Committee Clerk		Committee Chair	