STANDING COMMITTEE ON INTERGOVERNMENTAL AFFAIRS AND INFRASTRUCTURE April 16, 2007

MINUTE NO. 42 3:00 p.m. – Chamber

1. **Present**: Mr. Harper in the Chair and Members Allchurch, Draude, Forbes*, Hagel*, Iwanchuk, Taylor and Trew.

Substituting Members

Hon. Mr. Forbes for Hon. Mr. Taylor (from 4:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m. only) Hon. Mr. Hagel for Hon. Mr. Taylor (from 3:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m. only)

Other Members

Mr. Chisholm, Mr. Hart, Mr. Morgan

2. The committee considered the Estimates for the Department of Northern Affairs.

The following Department of Northern Affairs Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Joan Beatty, Minister

Alan Hilton, Deputy Minister

Anita Jones, Executive Director, Planning and Financial Management

Richard Turkheim, Executive Director, Resource and Industry Development

Scott Boyes, Director, Communications

Gerald DesRoches, Senior Account Manager, NANDF Loan Program

- 3. The committee adjourned consideration of the Estimates for the Department of Northern Affairs.
- 4. The committee considered the Estimates for the Department of First Nations and Métis Relations.

The following Department of First Nations and Métis Relations Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. Maynard Sonntag, Minister

Richard Gladue, Deputy Minister

John Reid, Acting Assistant Deputy Minister

Trisha Delormier-Hill. Executive Director. Lands and Resources

Seonaid MacPherson, Executive Director, Strategic Initiatives

Giselle Marcotte, Acting Executive Director, Aboriginal Policy and Operations

Laurier Donais, Director, Finance, Accountability and Corporate Services

Kerry Gray, Director, Gaming Trust and Grants

Jennifer Brass, Executive Assistant to the Deputy Minister

- 5. The committee adjourned consideration of the Estimates for the Department of First Nations and Métis Relations.
- 6. The committee recessed from 5:00 p.m. until 7:00 p.m.

7. The committee considered the Estimates for the Department of Justice.

The following Department of Justice Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. Frank Quennell, Minister
Doug Moen, Deputy Minister and Deputy Attorney General
Keith Laxdal, Associate Deputy Minister, Finance and Administration
Rod Crook, Assistant Deputy Minister, Courts and Civil Justice
Linda Bogard, Executive Director, Court Services
Betty Ann Pottruff, Executive Director, Policy, Planning and Evaluation
Murray Sawatsky, Executive Director, Law Enforcement Services
Gerald Tegart, Executive Director, Civil Law
Jan Turner, Executive Director, Community Justice

Don McKillop, Crown Counsel, Civil Law

Gord Sisson, Director, Administrative Services Kylie Head, Executive Assistant to the Deputy Minister

- 8. The committee adjourned consideration of the Estimates for the Department of Justice.
- 9. The committee adjourned at 9:07 p.m. to the call of the chair.

Margaret A. Woods	Ron Harper		
Committee Clerk	Committee Chair		