STANDING COMMITTEE ON INTERGOVERNMENTAL AFFAIRS AND INFRASTRUCTURE May 18, 2006

MINUTE NO. 27 3:00 p.m. – Chamber

1. **Present**: Mr. Harper in the Chair and Members Allchurch, Draude, Huyghebaert, Iwanchuk, Sonntag and Trew.

Other Members

Mr. Bjornerud, Mr. Hart, Mr. McMorris, Mr. Stewart, Mr. Wall, Mr. Weekes

2. The committee considered the Estimates and Supplementary Estimates for the Department of Highways and Transportation.

The following Department of Highways and Transportation Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. Eldon Lautermilch, Minister John Law, Deputy Minister Terry Schmidt, Assistant Deputy Minister, Operations Division George Stamatinos, Assistant Deputy Minister, Policy and Programs Division Ted Stobbs, Assistant Deputy Minister, Corporate Services Division Tim Kealey, Director, Corporate Support Branch

3. On motion of Mr. Trew:

Resolved, That there be granted to Her Majesty for the twelve months ending March 31, 2007 the sum:

Executive Branch of Government

For Highways and Transportation\$203,579,000

4. On motion of Mr. Trew:

Resolved, That there be granted to Her Majesty for the twelve months ending March 31, 2007 the sum:

Lending and Investing Activities

For Highways and Transportation\$1,000,000

5. On motion of Mr. Iwanchuk:

Major Capital Expenditure

Resolved, that there be granted to Her Majesty for the twelve months ending March 31, 2007, the following sums, which to the extent that they remain unexpended for that fiscal year are also granted for the fiscal year ending on March 31, 2008:

For Highways and Transportation Capital......\$141,382,000

6. On motion of Mr. Iwanchuk:

Resolved, That there be granted to Her Majesty for the twelve months ending March 31, 2006 the sum:

Executive Branch of Government

For Highways and Transportation\$5,200,000

- 7. The committee then considered the Estimates and Supplementary Estimates for the Department of Government Relations.
- 8. On motion of Mr. Trew:

Resolved, That there be granted to Her Majesty for the twelve months ending March 31, 2007 the sum:

Executive Branch of Government

For Government Relations \$195,404,000

9. On motion of Mr. Iwanchuk:

Resolved, That there be granted to Her Majesty for the twelve months ending March 31, 2006 the sum:

Executive Branch of Government

For Government Relations\$44,209,000

- 10. The committee then considered the Estimates for the Department of Northern Affairs.
- 11. On motion of Mr. Iwanchuk:

Resolved, That there be granted to Her Majesty for the twelve months ending March 31, 2007 the sum:

Executive Branch of Government

For Northern Affairs.....\$5,709,000

12. On motion of Mr. Trew:

Resolved, That there be granted to Her Majesty for the twelve months ending March 31, 2007 the sum:

Lending and Investing Activities

For Northern Affairs\$2,500,000

13. On motion of Mr. Iwanchuk:

Resolved, That there be granted to Her Majesty for the twelve months ending March 31, 2006 the sum:

Lending and Investing Activities

For Northern Affairs\$500,000

- 14. The committee considered the Estimates and Supplementary Estimates for the Department of First Nations and Métis Relations.
- 15. On motion of Mr. Trew:

Resolved, That there be granted to Her Majesty for the twelve months ending March 31, 2007 the sum:

Executive Branch of Government

For First Nations and Métis Relations \$51,095,000

16. On motion of Mr. Iwanchuk:

Resolved, That there be granted to Her Majesty for the twelve months ending March 31, 2006 the sum:

Executive Branch of Government

For First Nations and Métis Relations\$1,200,000

17. The committee considered its Fifth Report of the 25th Legislature. It was then moved by Mr. Trew:

That the Fifth Report of the Standing Committee on the Intergovernmental Affairs and Infrastructure be adopted.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

18. It was moved by Ms. Draude:

That the committee do now adjourn.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

19. The committee adjourned at 4:52 p.m. to the call of the Chair.

Gregory A. Putz Committee Clerk Ron Harper Committee Chair