# STANDING COMMITTEE ON INTERGOVERNMENTAL AFFAIRS AND INFRASTRUCTURE May 16, 2006

## MINUTE NO. 26 3:05 p.m. – Chamber

1. **Present**: Mr. Harper in the Chair and Members Allchurch, Draude, Iwanchuk, Sonntag, Trew, Wartman\* and Weekes\*.

### **Substituting Members**

Hon. Mr. Wartman for Hon. Mr. Sonntag (for consideration of the Estimates of the Department of Government Relations)

Mr. Weekes for Mr. Huyghebaert

### **Other Members**

Mr. Brkich, Mr. Hart, Mr. Hermanson, Mr. Kirsch, Mr. McMorris, Mr. Morgan

2. The committee considered Bill No. 48 - The Parks Amendment Act, 2006.

The following Department of Environment Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

#### Witnesses

Hon. John Nilson, Minister

Dave Phillips, Assistant Deputy Minister, Environment and Resource Stewardship Division Syd Barber, Executive Director, Parks Branch, Environment and Resource Stewardship Division

- 3. The question being put on clauses 1 to 7, they were agreed to.
- 4. It was moved by Mr. Trew:

That the committee report Bill No. 48 - The Parks Amendment Act, 2006 - without amendment.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

5. The committee considered the Estimates and Supplementary Estimates for the Department of Highways and Transportation.

The following Department of Highways and Transportation Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions.

#### Witnesses

Hon. Eldon Lautermilch, Minister

John Law, Deputy Minister

Terry Schmidt, Assistant Deputy Minister, Operations Division

George Stamatinos, Assistant Deputy Minister, Policy and Programs Division

Ted Stobbs, Assistant Deputy Minister, Corporate Services Division

Tim Kealey, Director, Corporate Support Branch

6. The committee adjourned consideration of the Estimates and Supplementary Estimates for the Department of Highways and Transportation.

- 7. The committee recessed from 5:32 p.m. until 6:30 p.m.
- 8. The committee considered the Estimates and Supplementary Estimates for the Department of Government Relations.

The following Department of Government Relations Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions.

### Witnesses

Hon. Harry Van Mulligan, Minister
Harvey Brooks, Deputy Minister
Paul Osborne, Assistant Deputy Minister, Trade and International Relations
Peggy Brundson, Executive Director, Community Planning
John Edwards, Executive Director, Policy Development, Municipal Relations
Dylan Jones, Executive Director, Canadian Intergovernmental Relations
Russ Krywulak, Executive Director, Grants Administration and Provincial-Municipal Relations
Marj Abel, Director, Finance and Administration, Central Management Services
Doug Morcom, Director, Grants Administration and Financial Management

- 9. The committee adjourned consideration of the Estimates and Supplementary Estimates for the Department of Government Relations.
- 10. The committee adjourned at 8:15 p.m. to the call of the Chair.

Margaret A. Woods	Ron Harper	
Committee Clerk	Committee Chair	
	2	