STANDING COMMITTEE ON INTERGOVERNMENTAL AFFAIRS AND INFRASTRUCTURE May 11, 2006

MINUTE NO. 25 3:00 p.m. – Chamber

1. **Present**: Mr. Harper in the Chair and Members Allchurch, Atkinson*, Chisholm*, Draude, Huyghebaert, Iwanchuk, Sonntag and Trew.

Substituting Members

Hon. Ms. Atkinson for Hon. Mr. Sonntag (for consideration of the Estimates for the Department of Northern Affairs)

Mr. Chisholm for Mr. Huyghebaert (from 6:00 p.m. until 9:30 p.m.)

Other Members

Mr. Hart, Mr. Stewart

2. The following document was tabled:

IAI 17/25 Department of First Nations and Métis Relations: Response to questions raised at the May 4, 2006 meeting of the committee, dated May 11, 2006, re:

- List of grants to organizations benefiting Métis people;
- The department's cost share of the "Saskatchewan Métis Community Study";
- List of grant recipients for the Aboriginal Employment Development Program;
- Aboriginal Employment Development Program, 2006-07 budget breakdown.
- 3. The committee considered Bill No. 62 The Municipal Revenue Sharing Amendment Act, 2006.

The following Department of Government Relations Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. Harry Van Mulligen, Minister

John Edwards, Executive Director, Policy Development Branch, Municipal Relations Doug Morcom, Director of Grants Administration and Financial Management, Grants Administration and Provincial-Municipal Relations Branch

Keith Comstock, Policy Manager, Policy Development Branch, Municipal Relations Allan Laird, Senior Policy Analyst, Policy Development Branch, Municipal Relations

- 4. The question being put on clauses 1 to 9, they were agreed to.
- 5. It was moved by Mr. Trew:

That the committee report Bill No. 62 - The Municipal Revenue Sharing Amendment Act, 2006 - without amendment.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

6. The committee considered Bill No. 45 - The Local Government Election Amendment Act, 2006.

The following Department of Government Relations Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. Harry Van Mulligen, Minister

John Edwards, Executive Director, Policy Development Branch, Municipal Relations Doug Morcom, Director of Grants Administration and Financial Management, Grants Administration and Provincial-Municipal Relations Branch

Keith Comstock, Policy Manager, Policy Development Branch, Municipal Relations Allan Laird, Senior Policy Analyst, Policy Development Branch, Municipal Relations

- 7. The question being put on clauses 1 to 15, they were agreed to.
- 8. It was moved by Mr. Trew:

That the committee report Bill No. 45 - The Local Government Election Amendment Act, 2006 - without amendment.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

9. The committee considered Bill No. 52 - The Meewasin Valley Authority Amendment Act, 2006.

The following Meewasin Valley Authority Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

 Hon. David Forbes, Minister
John Gerstmar, Resource Planning Manager, Meewasin Valley Authority
Ken Lozinsky, Assistant Executive Director, Parks Branch, Resource and Environmental Stewardship Division, Department of Environment

- 10. The question being put on clauses 1 to 19, they were agreed to.
- 11. It was moved by Mr. Trew:

That the committee report Bill No. 52 - The Meewasin Valley Authority Amendment Act, 2006 - without amendment.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

12. The committee considered Bill No. 55 - The Reclaimed Industrial Sites Act.

The following Department of Industry and Resources Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

 Hon. Eric Cline, Minister
Glen Veikle, Associate Deputy Minister, Resource and Economic Policy Branch
Dave Phillips, Assistant Deputy Minister, Environment and Resource Stewardship Division, Department of Environment Witnesses (continued)

Richard Turkheim, Executive Director, Resource and Industry Development, Department of Northern Affairs

Jay Fredericks, Director, Mineral Policy, Resource and Economic Policy Branch Keith Cunningham, Industry Analyst, Mineral Policy, Resource and Economic Policy Branch

- 13. The question being put on clauses 1 to 19, they were agreed to.
- 14. It was moved by Mr. Trew:

That the committee report Bill No. 55 - The Reclaimed Industrial Sites Act - without amendment.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

15. The committee considered Bill No. 48 - The Parks Amendment Act, 2006.

The following Department of Environment Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. John Nilson, Minister

Dave Phillips, Assistant Deputy Minister, Environment and Resource Stewardship Division Syd Barber, Executive Director, Parks Branch, Environment and Resource Stewardship Division

- 16. The committee adjourned consideration of Bill No. 48 The Parks Amendment Act, 2006.
- 17. The committee recessed from 5:02 p.m. until 6:00 p.m.
- 18. The committee considered the Estimates and Supplementary Estimates for the Department of Northern Affairs.

The following Department of Northern Affairs Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

<u>Witnesses</u> Hon. Joan Beatty, Minister Al Hilton, Deputy Minister Glenn McKenzie, Assistant Deputy Minister Anita Jones, Executive Director, Planning and Financial Management Richard Turkheim, Executive Director, Resource and Industry Development Gerald DesRoches, Senior Account Manager, Northern Development Fund

- 19. The committee adjourned consideration of the Estimates and Supplementary Estimates for the Department of Northern Affairs.
- 20. The committee considered the Estimates and Supplementary Estimates for the Department of First Nations and Métis Relations.

The following Department of First Nations and Métis Relations Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. Maynard Sonntag, Minister Nora Sanders, Deputy Minister Richard Gladue, Assistant Deputy Minister Trisha Delormier-Hill, Executive Director, Lands and Resources Doreen Bradshaw, Director, Aboriginal Employment Development Program Laurier Donais, Director, Finance, Accountability and Corporate Services Giselle Marcotte, Director, Aboriginal Relations, Aboriginal Policy and Operations Rob Spelliscy, Director, Gaming Trust and Grants Jennifer Brass, Executive Assistant to the Deputy Minister

- 21. The committee adjourned consideration of the Estimates and Supplementary Estimates for the Department of First Nations and Métis Relations.
- 22. It was moved by Ms. Draude:

That this committee do now adjourn.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

23. The committee adjourned at 9:20 p.m. to the call of the Chair.

Margaret A. Woods Committee Clerk Ron Harper Committee Chair