STANDING COMMITTEE ON INTERGOVERNMENTAL AFFAIRS AND INFRASTRUCTURE May 16, 2005

MINUTE NO. 15 3:00 p.m. – Room 8

1. **Present**: Mr. Harper in the Chair and Members Allchurch, Draude, Huyghebaert, Iwanchuk*, Morin, Sonntag and Trew.

Substituting Member

Mr. Iwanchuk for Hon. Mr. Sonntag (for consideration of Estimates for the Department of Highways and Transportation)

Other Members

Hon. Mr. Belanger, Mr. Bjornerud, Mr. Borgerson, Mr. Brkich, Hon. Ms. Crofford, Mr. D'Autremont, Mr. Dearborn, Ms. Eagles, Mr. Elhard, Mr. Hagel, Ms. Harpauer, Mr. Heppner, Hon. Mr. Prebble, Hon. Mr. Serby, Mr. Stewart, Mr. Wakefield, Hon. Mr. Wartman and Mr. Weekes

2. The committee received the Phase II – Final Report and a presentation from the Action Committee on the Rural Economy (ACRE).

The following Action Committee on the Rural Economy members and Department of Rural Development officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Audrey Horkoff, Co-chair Dick DeRyk, Co-Chair, Infrastructure Subcommittee Loren Katzenberger, Co-Chair, Rural Employment Subcommittee Linda Pipke, Co-Chair, Business Development Subcommittee Red Williams, Co-Chair, Crown Land Subcommittee Danea Armstrong Knittig Ernie Barber Everett Bear Joan Corneil Clay Dowling Deborah Ehmann Neal Hardy Gene Kessler Les Lindberg Fave Myers Phil Reeves David Sloan Hugh Wagner Wanda Wolf

Louise Greenberg, Deputy Minister, Rural Development Alan Syhlonyk, Director, Policy and Planning, Rural Development Leeann Minogue, Policy Advisor, Policy and Planning, Rural Development 3. The following document was tabled:

IAI 9/25 – Action Committee on the Rural Economy: Phase II Final Report, May 2005.

- 4. The committee recessed from 5:12 p.m. until 7:10 p.m.
- 5. The committee considered Bill No. 104 The Planning and Development Amendment Act, 2005.

The following Department of Government Relations Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. Len Taylor, Minister
John Edwards, Executive Director, Policy Development, Municipal Relations
Keith Comstock, Policy Manager, Policy Development, Municipal Relations
Rod Nasewich, Senior Policy Analyst, Policy Development, Municipal Relations
Allan Laird, Senior Policy Analyst, Policy Development, Municipal Relations
Noela Bamford, Senior Policy and Legislative Analyst, Policy Development, Municipal Relations
Ralph Leibel, Acting Executive Director, Community Planning, Municipal Relations
Len Kowalko, Director, Community Planning - Saskatoon, Municipal Relations

- 6. The question being put on clauses 1 to 51, they were agreed to.
- 7. On motion of Mr. Trew:

Ordered, That the committee report Bill No. 104 – The Planning and Development Amendment Act, 2005 - without amendment.

8. The committee considered Bill No. 105 – The Local Government Election Amendment Act, 2005.

The following Department of Government Relations Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. Len Taylor, Minister John Edwards, Executive Director, Policy Development, Municipal Relations Keith Comstock, Policy Manager, Policy Development, Municipal Relations Rod Nasewich, Senior Policy Analyst, Policy Development, Municipal Relations Allan Laird, Senior Policy Analyst, Policy Development, Municipal Relations Noela Bamford, Senior Policy and Legislation Analyst, Policy Development, Municipal Relations

- 9. The question being put on clauses 1 to 27, they were agreed to.
- 10. On motion of Ms. Morin:

Ordered, That the committee report Bill No. 105 – The Local Government Election Amendment Act, 2005 - without amendment.

11. The committee considered Bill No. 106 – The Municipalities Act.

The following Department of Government Relations Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. Len Taylor, Minister

John Edwards, Executive Director, Policy Development, Municipal Relations Keith Comstock, Policy Manager, Policy Development, Municipal Relations Rod Nasewich, Senior Policy Analyst, Policy Development, Municipal Relations Allan Laird, Senior Policy Analyst, Policy Development, Municipal Relations Noela Bamford, Senior Policy and Legislation Analyst, Policy Development, Municipal Relations Ralph Leibel, Acting Executive Director, Community Planning, Municipal Relations Len Kowalko, Director, Community Planning - Saskatoon, Municipal Relations

12. The question being put on clauses 1 to 484, they were agreed to.

13. On motion of Mr. Trew:

Ordered, That the committee report Bill No. 106 – The Municipalities Act - without amendment.

 The committee considered Bill No. 107 – The Municipalities Consequential Amendment Act, 2005 / Projet de loi n° 107 – Loi de 2005 sur les modifications corrélatives découlant de la loi intitulée The Municipalities Act

The following Department of Government Relations Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. Len Taylor, Minister

John Edwards, Executive Director, Policy Development, Municipal Relations Keith Comstock, Policy Manager, Policy Development, Municipal Relations Rod Nasewich, Senior Policy Analyst, Policy Development, Municipal Relations Allan Laird, Senior Policy Analyst, Policy Development, Municipal Relations Noela Bamford, Senior Policy and Legislation Analyst, Policy Development, Municipal Relations Ralph Leibel, Acting Executive Director, Community Planning, Municipal Relations Len Kowalko, Director, Community Planning - Saskatoon, Municipal Relations

- 15. The question being put on clauses 1 to 6, they were agreed to.
- 16. On motion of Mr. Trew:

Ordered, That the committee report Bill No. 107 – The Municipalities Consequential Amendment Act, 2005 / Projet de loi n° 107 – Loi de 2005 sur les modifications corrélatives découlant de la loi intitulée The Municipalities Act - without amendment.

17. The committee resumed consideration of the Estimates and Supplementary Estimates for the Department of Highways and Transportation.

The following Department of Highways and Transportation Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

<u>Witnesses</u> Hon. Maynard Sonntag, Minister John Law, Deputy Minister Terry Schmidt, Assistant Deputy Minister, Operations George Stamatinos, Assistant Deputy Minister, Policy and Programs Cathy Lynn Borbely, Acting Director, Corporate Support

- 18. The committee adjourned consideration of the Estimates and Supplementary Estimates for the Department of Highways and Transportation.
- 19. The committee adjourned at 10:39 p.m. to the call of the Chair.

Margaret A. Woods Committee Clerk Ron Harper Committee Chair