# STANDING COMMITTEE ON INTERGOVERNMENTAL AFFAIRS AND INFRASTRUCTURE May 12, 2005

## MINUTE NO. 14 5:50 p.m. – Room 8

1. **Present**: Mr. Harper in the Chair and Members Allchurch, Borgerson\*, Draude, Huyghebaert, Morin, Sonntag and Trew.

#### **Substituting Members**

Mr. Borgerson for Hon. Mr. Sonntag (for consideration of Estimates for the Department of First Nations and Métis Relations)

### **Other Members**

Mr. Bkrich, Mr. Borgerson, Mr. Hart, Mr. Stewart

2. The committee resumed consideration of the Estimates for the Department of Rural Development.

The following Department of Rural Development Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

#### Witnesses

Hon. Clay Serby, Minister
Louise Greenberg, Deputy Minister
Debbie Harrison, Director, Co-operative Development and Support
John Keeler, Director, Investment Programs
Alan Syhlonyk, Director, Policy and Planning

3. The following document was tabled:

**IAI 8/25 – Department of Rural Development**: Small Business Loans Association Program – list of recipients, dated 5/9/2005.

- 4. The committee adjourned consideration of the Estimates for the Department of Rural Development.
- 5. The committee resumed consideration of the Estimates for the Department of First Nations and Métis Relations.

The following Department of First Nations and Métis Relations Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

### Witnesses

Hon. Maynard Sonntag, Minister

Nora Sanders, Deputy Minister

Donavon Young, Assistant Deputy Minister

John Reid, Executive Director, Aboriginal Policy and Operations

Doreen Bradshaw, Director, Aboriginal Employment Development Program

Alethea Foster, Director, Communications

Robert Spellicsy, Director, Gaming, Trust and Grants

Susan Shalapata Carani, Acting Executive Director, Lands and Resources

Jennifer Brass, Executive Assistant and Senior Policy Advisor to the Deputy Minister

5.	The committee adjourned consideration of the Estimates for the Department of First Nations and Métis Relations.
7.	The committee adjourned at 8:28 p.m. to the call of the Chair.
Ma Co	rgaret A. Woods mmittee Clerk Ron Harper Committee Chair