STANDING COMMITTEE ON INTERGOVERNMENTAL AFFAIRS AND INFRASTRUCTURE April 27, 2005

MINUTE NO. 12 3:00 p.m. – Chamber

1. **Present**: Mr. Harper in the Chair and Members Allchurch, Borgerson*, Heppner*, Huyghebaert, McCall* and Trew.

Substituting Members

Mr. Borgerson for Ms. Morin Mr. McCall for Hon. Mr. Sonntag Mr. Heppner for Ms. Draude

Other Members

Mr. Hermanson, Mr. Weekes

2. The following document was tabled:

IAI 7/25 – **Department of Northern Affairs**: Responses to a question raised at the April 6, 2005 meeting of the committee, dated April 26, 2005, re: Northern Saskatchewan's contribution to the provincial GDP and government plans and strategies respecting northern development.

3. The committee resumed consideration of the Estimates and Supplementary Estimates for the Department of Highways and Transportation.

The following Department of Highways and Transportation Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. Maynard Sonntag, Minister
John Law, Deputy Minister
Terry Schmidt, Assistant Deputy Minister, Operations
George Stamatinos, Assistant Deputy Minister, Policy and Programs
Cathy Lynn Borbely, Acting Director, Corporate Services

- 4. The committee adjourned consideration of the Estimates and Supplementary Estimates for the Department of Highways and Transportation.
- 5. The committee resumed consideration of the Estimates for the Department of Northern Affairs.

The following Department of Northern Affairs Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. Buckley Belanger, Minister Larry Steeves, Deputy Minister Anita Jones, Executive Director, Planning and Financial Management. Richard Turkheim, Executive Director, Resource and Industry Development

6.	The committee adjourned consideration of the Estimates for the Department of Northern Affairs.	
7.	7. The committee adjourned at 5:01 p.m. to the call of the Chair.	
Ma	Margaret A. Woods Committee Clerk Ron Harper Committee Chair	
CO	Commutee Cicik Committee Chair	