STANDING COMMITTEE ON INTERGOVERNMENTAL AFFAIRS AND INFRASTRUCTURE April 29, 2004

MINUTE NO. 2 3:00 p.m. - Chamber

1. **PRESENT**: Mr. Harper in the Chair and Members Allchurch, Bjornerud, Heppner*, Morin, Trew, Wartman.

Substituting Member

Mr. Heppner for Ms. Draude

Other Members

Messrs. Brkich, Elhard, Hermanson, McMorris and Toth.

- 2. The Chair made an opening statement to mark the historic first broadcast of the committee's proceedings.
- 3. The committee considered its regular meeting times. It was then moved by Mr. Bjornerud:

That in accordance with Rules 110 and 3(4) of the Rules and Procedures of the Legislative Assembly of Saskatchewan, when this committee convenes during the hours specified by Rule 3(1) for the daily meeting of the Assembly, during the sessional period it shall follow the Assembly's recess and adjournment times unless otherwise ordered.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

4. The committee considered the broadcasting of its proceedings. It was moved by Mr. Trew:

That pursuant to Rule 119(2), the committee authorize the broadcast of its public proceedings.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

5. The Chair advised that the committee had received an Order of the Assembly, dated April 27, 2004 to consider and report back on the Estimates for the following departments and agencies:

Vote 30 Government Relations and Aboriginal Affairs

Vote 16, 17, 145 Highways and Transportation

Vote 75, 163 Northern Affairs

Vote 151 Municipal Financing Corporation of Saskatchewan

6. The committee considered the Estimates for the Department of Highways and Transportation.

The following Department of Highways and Transportation officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Maynard Sonntag, Minister Harvey Brooks, Deputy Minister Don Wincherauk, Assistant Deputy Minister of Corporate Services

Standing Committee on Intergovernmental Affairs and Infrastructure April 29, 2004

Witnesses (continued) Terry Blomme, Executive Director of Southern Region Terry Schmidt, Executive Director of Central Region Fred Antunes, Director of Corporate Support Branch Mike Makowsky, Director of Transportation, Trade and Logistics Cathy Lynn Borbely, Manager of Business Development
It was moved by Mr. Bjornerud:
That this committee do now adjourn.
The question being put, the motion was carried.
The committee adjourned at 4:52 p.m. to the call of the chair.

7.

8.

Margaret A. Woods Committee Clerk Ron Harper Committee Chair