STANDING COMMITTEE ON HUMAN SERVICES Monday, May 4, 2009

MINUTE NO. 24 3:00 p.m. – Room 8

1. **Present:** Glen Hart in the Chair and Members Denis Allchurch, Pat Atkinson*, Doreen Eagles, David Forbes*, Serge LeClerc, Greg Ottenbreit, Trent Wotherspoon* and Kevin Yates*.

Substituting Members

Trent Wotherspoon for Cam Broten (3:00 p.m. – 4:30 p.m. only) Kevin Yates for Judy Junor (3:00 p.m. – 4:30 p.m. only) David Forbes for Cam Broten (7:00 p.m. – 10:00 p.m. only) Pat Atkinson for Judy Junor (7:00 p.m. – 10:00 p.m. only)

2. The following document was tabled:

HUS 20/26 – Ministry of Social Services: Written submission regarding the number of child protection workers registered with the Saskatchewan Association of Social Workers (SASW), dated April 30, 2009.

3. The committee considered Estimates for the Ministry of Corrections, Public Safety and Policing.

The following Corrections, Public Safety and Policing Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. Darryl Hickie, Minister
Al Hilton, Deputy Minister
Mae Boa, Acting Assistant Deputy Minister, Corporate Services
Tammy Kirkland, Executive Director, Adult Corrections
Dr. Brian Rector, Director, Program Development and Therapeutic Services

- 4. The committee adjourned consideration of the Estimates for the Ministry of Corrections, Public Safety and Policing.
- 5. The committee recessed from 4:01 until 4:05 p.m.
- 6. The committee considered Estimates for the Ministry of Education.

The following Education Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. Ken Krawetz, Minister Audrey Roadhouse, Deputy Minister Dave Tulloch, Director, Financial Planning and Management Doug Volk, Executive Director, Teachers' Superannuation Commission

- 7. The committee adjourned consideration of the Estimates for the Ministry of Education.
- 8. The committee recessed from 4:30 p.m. until 7:00 p.m.
- 9. The committee considered Estimates for the Ministry of Advanced Education, Employment and Labour.

The following Advanced Education, Employment and Labour Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. Rob Norris, Minister

Wynne Young, Deputy Minister

Mike Carr, Associate Deputy Minister, Labour, Employee and Employer Services

Rupen Pandya, Assistant Deputy Minister, Immigration

Karen Allen, Executive Director, Corporate Services

Pat Faulconbridge, Executive Director, Status of Women Office

Linda Smith, Executive Director, Policy and Planning

Roberta Cross, Director, Entrepreneur Unit

Scott Giroux, Director, Financial Planning

Eric Johansen, Director, Saskatchewan Immigrant Nominee Program

Yetunde Oke, Director, Policy and Program Support

Daniel Parrot, Director, Legal and Education Services

Giovanna Pirro, Director, Community Partnerships and Settlement

Kirk Westgard, Acting Director, Program Integrity, Saskatchewan Immigrant Nominee Program

Rhiannon Stromberg, Senior Executive Assistant to the Deputy Minister

- 10. The committee recessed from 8:31 p.m. until 8:42 p.m.
- 11. The committee resumed consideration of the Estimates for the Ministry of Advanced Education, Employment and Labour.
- 12. The committee adjourned consideration of the Estimates for the Ministry of Advanced Education, Employment and Labour.
- 13. The committee considered Bill No. 73 The University of Saskatchewan Amendment Act, 2008.

The following Advanced Education, Employment and Labour Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. Rob Norris, Minister

Wynne Young, Deputy Minister

Reg Urbanowski, Assistant Deputy Minister, Advanced Education and Student Services

Rhiannon Stromberg, Senior Executive Assistant to the Deputy Minister

14. The questions being put on clauses 1 to 17, they were agreed to.

That the committee report Bill No. 73 – The 2008 – without amendment.	University of Saskatchewan Amendment Act,
The question being put, it was agreed to.	
16. It was moved by Mr. LeClerc:	
That this committee do now adjourn.	
The question being put, it was agreed to.	
17. The committee adjourned at 10:02 p.m. to the call o	f the Chair.
Kathy Burianyk Committee Clerk	Glen Hart Committee Chair

15. It was moved by Ms. Eagles: