STANDING COMMITTEE ON HUMAN SERVICES Monday, March 30, 2009

MINUTE NO. 20 3:00 p.m. – Room 8

1. **Present:** Glen Hart in the Chair and Members Denis Allchurch, Cam Broten, Doreen Eagles, Judy Junor, Serge LeClerc and Greg Ottenbreit.

Other Members

Trent Wotherspoon

2. The Chair advised the committee that, pursuant to Rule 146(1), the Estimates and Supplementary Estimates for the following ministries and agencies were deemed referred to the committee on March 26, 2009:

Vote 37, 169 Advanced Education, Employment and Labour Vote 73 Corrections, Public Safety and Policing

Vote 5 Education Vote 32 Health

Vote 36 Social Services

3. The committee considered Supplementary Estimates for the Ministry of Education.

The following Education Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. Ken Krawetz, Minister

Audrey Roadhouse, Deputy Minister

Darren McKee, Assistant Deputy Minister

Sonya Leib, Senior Financial Manager, Education Finance and Facilities

Dawn Court, Senior Financial Manager, Financial Planning and Management

Rhonda Smysniuk, Executive Director, Education Finance and Facilities

Clint Repski, Director, Education Finance and Facilities

4. The committee concluded consideration of the Supplementary Estimates for the Ministry of Education. On motion of Mr. Allchurch:

Resolved, That there be granted to Her Majesty for the twelve months ending March 31, 2009 the following sums:

For Education \$39,100,000

5. It was moved by Ms. Eagles:

That the Sixth Report of the Standing Committee on Human Services be adopted and presented to the Assembly.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

6. The committee considered Estimates for the Ministry of Education.

The following Education Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. Ken Krawetz, Minister

Audrey Roadhouse, Deputy Minister

Darren McKee, Assistant Deputy Minister

Sonya Leib, Senior Financial Manager, Education Finance and Facilities

Rhonda Smysniuk, Executive Director, Education Finance and Facilities

Clint Repski, Director, Education Finance and Facilities

Margaret Ball, Director, Education Finance and Facilities

Sue Amundrud, Associate Executive Director, Curriculum and E-Learning

Lois Zelmer, Executive Director, Early Learning and Child Care

Rosanne Glass, Executive Director, Policy, Evaluation and Legislative Services

Doug Volk, Executive Director, Teachers' Superannuation Commission

Joylene Campbell, Provincial Librarian, Provincial Library

Terry Myers, Executive Director, Regional and Integrated Services

Darryl Hunter, Executive Director, Accountability, Assessment and Records

Elaine Caswell, Director, Children's Services

Maureen Johns Simpson, Executive Director, First Nations and Métis Education

Greg Tuer, Executive Director, HR Services, Public Service Commission

- 7. The committee adjourned consideration of the Estimates for the Ministry of Education.
- 8. The committee recessed from 5:00 p.m. until 7:00 p.m.
- 9. The committee considered Estimates for the Ministry of Health.

The following Health Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. Don McMorris, Minister

Dan Florizone, Deputy Minister

Gren Smith-Windsor, Associate Deputy Minister

Louise Greenberg, Associate Deputy Minister

Max Hendricks, Assistant Deputy Minister

Lauren Donnelly, Assistant Deputy Minister

Ted Warawa, Executive Director, Financial Services Branch

Duncan Fisher, Special Advisor to the Deputy Minister

Kari Harvey, Executive Director, Capital and Regional Services

Roger Carriere, Executive Director, Community Care Branch

Donna Magnusson, Executive Director, Primary Health Services

Leslie Grob, Director, Population Health

Jim Myres, Director, Population Health

Ron Knaus, Executive Director, Workforce Planning

Scott Livingstone, Executive Director, Health Information Solutions Centre

Deb Jordan, Executive Director, Acute and Emergency Services

Lauren Black, Assistant to the Deputy Minister

11. The committee adjourned c	onsideration of the Estin	nates for the Ministry of Health.	
12. The committee adjourned a	t 10:33 p.m. to the call o	f the Chair.	
Kathy Burianyk Committee Clerk		Glen Hart Committee Chair	

10. The committee recessed from 8:45 p.m. until 9:05 p.m.