STANDING COMMITTEE ON HUMAN SERVICES Wednesday, May 11, 2011

MINUTE NO. 57 4:06 p.m. – Room 8

1. **Present**: Greg Ottenbreit in the Chair and Members Pat Atkinson*, Cam Broten, Dan D'Autremont*, Doreen Eagles, Glen Hart and Christine Tell.

Substituting Members

Pat Atkinson for Judy Junor Dan D'Autremont for Gordon Wyant

Other Members

Deb Higgins, Warren McCall

2. The committee considered Bill No. 168 – The Teachers Superannuation and Disability Benefits Amendment Act, 2011.

The following Education Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

<u>Witnesses</u> Hon. Donna Harpauer, Minister Audrey Roadhouse, Deputy Minister Doug Volk, Executive Director, Teachers' Superannuation Commission Brenda Maximuik, Legislative Policy and Privacy Analyst, Strategic Policy Branch

- 3. The questions being put on clauses 1 to 3, they were agreed to.
- 4. It was moved by Mr. Hart:

That the committee report Bill No. 168 – The Teachers Superannuation and Disability Benefits Amendment Act, 2011 – without amendment.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

5. The committee considered the Estimates and Supplementary Estimates for the Ministry of Education.

The following Education Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. Donna Harpauer, Minister Audrey Roadhouse, Deputy Minister Darren McKee, Assistant Deputy Minister Cheryl Senecal, Assistant Deputy Minister Joylene Campbell, Executive Director, Information Management and Support Simone Gareau, Executive Director, Student Achievement and Support Rosanne Glass, Executive Director, Strategic Policy Doug Volk, Executive Director, Teachers' Superannuation Commission Brent Young, Acting Executive Director, HR Services, Public Service Commission Elaine Caswell, Associate Executive Director, Student Achievement and Support Mike Back, Director, Infrastructure and Education Funding Brenda Dougherty, Director, Early Years Clint Repski, Director, Infrastructure and Education Funding Dawn Court, Director of Finance, Corporate Services Sonya Leib, Senior Financial Manager, Corporate Services Brett Waytuck, Provincial Librarian, Provincial Library and Literacy Daryl Richter, Manager, Capital Projects, Infrastructure and Education Funding

6. The committee concluded consideration of the Estimates for the Ministry of Education. On motion of Mr. Hart:

Resolved, That there be granted to Her Majesty for the twelve months ending March 31, 2012 the following sum:

For Education......\$1,261,463,000

7. The committee concluded consideration of the Supplementary Estimates for the Ministry of Education. On motion of Mr. D'Autremont:

Resolved, That there be granted to Her Majesty for the twelve months ending March 31, 2011 the following sum:

For Education.....\$68,614,000

8. It was moved by Mr. Hart:

That this committee do now adjourn.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

9. The committee adjourned at 5:47 p.m. to the call of the Chair.

Nathan Elliott Committee Clerk Greg Ottenbreit Committee Chair