STANDING COMMITTEE ON HUMAN SERVICES Monday, May 9, 2011

MINUTE NO. 55 2:45 p.m. – Room 8

1. **Present**: Greg Ottenbreit in the Chair and Members Pat Atkinson*, Greg Brkich*, Cam Broten, Doreen Eagles, David Forbes*, Glen Hart, Andy Iwanchuk*, Judy Junor, Sandra Morin*, Christine Tell and Gordon Wyant.

Substituting Members

- David Forbes for Judy Junor (for consideration of Estimates and Supplementary Estimates for Social Services)
- Andy Iwanchuk for Judy Junor (for consideration of Estimates for Labour Relations and Workplace Safety)
- Greg Brkich for Glen Hart (for consideration of Estimates and Supplementary Estimates for Education)

Pat Atkinson for Judy Junor (9:10 p.m. – 10:17 p.m. only)

Sandra Morin for Judy Junor (10:17 p.m. – 10:39 p.m. only)

Other Members

Buckley Belanger

2. The following document was tabled:

HUS 75/26 – Ministry of Education: Responses to questions raised at the April 18, 2011 meeting of the committee re: Capital Reserves of School Divisions, Capital Projects Expensed and Not Paid Out, School Division Share of Major Capital Projects, Anticipated Borrowing Summary by School Division, as well as documents containing information on Home Based Enrolments – 2010-11 School Year, Financing Sub-Committee and Working Group Meetings and English as an Additional Language (EAL) – 2010-11 FTE Count, dated May 6, 2011.

3. The committee considered the Estimates and Supplementary Estimates for the Ministry of Social Services.

The following Social Services Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. June Draude, Minister Marian Zerr, Deputy Minister Don Allen, Assistant Deputy Minister, Housing Al Syhlonyk, Assistant Deputy Minister, Corporate Services Eileen Badiuk, Executive Director, Program and Service Design Dianne Baird, Executive Director, Housing Network Tim Gross, Executive Director, Housing Development Miriam Myers, Executive Director, Finance and Administration Jeff Redekop, Executive Director, IADS, Program and Service Design Doug Scott, Director, Benefits Policy

- 4. The committee adjourned consideration of the Estimates and Supplementary Estimates for the Ministry of Social Services.
- 5. The committee recessed from 3:59 p.m. until 4:04 p.m.
- 6. The committee considered the Estimates and Supplementary Estimates for the Ministry of Health.

The following Health Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. Don McMorris, Minister Dan Florizone, Deputy Minister Max Hendricks, Associate Deputy Minister Lauren Donnelly, Assistant Deputy Minister Brenda Jameson, Acting Chief Executive Officer, eHealth Saskatchewan Roger Carriere, Executive Director, Community Care Branch Deb Jordan, Executive Director, Acute and Emergency Services Branch Ron Knaus, Executive Director, Workforce Planning Branch Donna Magnusson, Executive Director, Primary Health Care Branch Ted Warawa, Executive Director, Financial Services Branch Mark Wyatt, Executive Director, Saskatchewan Surgical Initiative Shaylene Salazar, Executive Director, Medical Services Branch Rick Trimp, Executive Director, Population Health Branch Kevin Wilson, Executive Director, Drug Plan and Extended Benefits Richard Moen, Director, Strategy and Innovation Branch Michelle Schmalenberg, Assistant to the Deputy Minister Lynn Digney Davis, Chief Nursing Officer

7. The committee concluded consideration of the Estimates for the Ministry of Health. On motion of Mr. Hart:

Resolved, That there be granted to Her Majesty for the twelve months ending March 31, 2012 the following sum:

8. The committee concluded consideration of the Supplementary Estimates for the Ministry of Health. On motion of Mr. Wyant:

Resolved, That there be granted to Her Majesty for the twelve months ending March 31, 2011 the following sum:

For Health.....\$162,996,000

- 9. The committee recessed from 5:11 p.m. until 7:00 p.m.
- 10. The committee considered the Estimates for the Ministry of Labour Relations and Workplace Safety.

The following Labour Relations and Workplace Safety Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. Don Morgan, Minister Mike Carr, Deputy Minister Peter Federko, Chief Executive Officer, Saskatchewan Workers' Compensation Board Glennis Bihun, Executive Director, Occupational Health and Safety Laurier Donais, Executive Director, Central Services Division Greg Tuer, Executive Director, Labour Standards Denise Klotz, Director, Office of the Workers' Advocate Pat Parenteau, Director, Policy and Central Services Division Daniel Parrot, Director of Legal Services, Labour Standards Division Fred Bayer, the Registrar of the Labour Relations Board

11. The committee concluded consideration of the Estimates for the Ministry of Labour Relations and Workplace Safety. On motion of Ms. Eagles:

Resolved, That there be granted to Her Majesty for the twelve months ending March 31, 2012 the following sum:

For Labour Relations and Workplace Safety \$16,958,000

- 12. The committee recessed from 9:04 p.m. until 9:10 p.m.
- 13. The committee considered the Estimates and Supplementary Estimates for the Ministry of Education.

The following Education Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. Donna Harpauer, Minister Audrey Roadhouse, Deputy Minister Darren McKee, Assistant Deputy Minister Cheryl Senecal, Assistant Deputy Minister Joylene Campbell, Executive Director, Information Management and Support Simone Gareau, Executive Director, Student Achievement and Support Rosanne Glass, Executive Director, Strategic Policy Doug Volk, Executive Director, Teachers' Superannuation Commission Lois Zelmer, Executive Director, Early Years Brent Young, Acting Executive Director, HR Services, Public Service Commission Elaine Caswell, Associate Executive Director, Student Achievement and Support Mike Back, Director, Infrastructure and Education Funding Dawn Court, Director of Finance, Corporate Services Clint Repski, Director, Infrastructure and Education Funding Sonva Leib, Senior Financial Manager, Corporate Services Brett Waytuck, Provincial Librarian, Provincial Library and Literacy Daryl Richter, Manager, Capital Projects, Infrastructure and Education Funding

14. The committee adjourned consideration of the Estimates and Supplementary Estimates for the Ministry of Education.

15. The committee adjourned at 10:39 p.m. to the call of the Chair.

Nathan Elliott Committee Clerk Greg Ottenbreit Committee Chair