STANDING COMMITTEE ON HUMAN SERVICES Monday, April 28, 2008

MINUTE NO. 9 3:30 p.m. - Room 8

1. **Present**: Mr. Glen Hart in the Chair and Members Denis Allchurch, Cam Broten, Doreen Eagles, Judy Junor, Serge LeClerc and Greg Ottenbreit.

Substituted Members:

David Forbes for Cam Broten (evening only) Ron Harper for Judy Junor (6:00 – 6:45 p.m.)

Other Members:

Pat Atkinson, Buckley Belanger, Deb Higgins, Len Taylor, Trent Wotherspoon.

2. The following documents were tabled:

HUS 9/26 Ministry Education: Written submission entitled "Follow-up to committee April 17, 2008".

HUS 10/26 Ministry Education: Written submission entitled "Follow-up to committee April 21, 2008".

3. The committee considered Bill No. 13 – The Teachers' Life Insurance (Government Contributory) Amendment Act, 2008.

The following Education Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses:

Hon. Ken Krawetz, Minister

Audrey Roadhouse, Deputy Minister

Shirley Robertson, Acting Executive Director, Teachers' Superannuation Commission Drew Johnston, Director, Policy, Evaluation and Legislative Services Branch

- 4. The questions being put on clauses 1 to 3, they were agreed to.
- 5. It was moved by Mr. LeClerc:

That the committee report Bill No. 13 – The Teachers' Life Insurance (Government Contributory) Amendment Act, 2008 – without amendment.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

6. The committee considered Bill No. 14 – The Saskatchewan Association of School Business Officials Repeal Act.

The following Education Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses:

Hon. Ken Krawetz, Minister Audrey Roadhouse, Deputy Minister Shirley Robertson, Acting Executive Director, Teachers' Superannuation Commission Drew Johnston, Director, Policy, Evaluation and Legislative Services Branch

- 7. The questions being put on clauses 1 to 3, they were agreed to.
- 8. It was moved by Ms. Eagles:

That the committee report Bill No. 14 – The Saskatchewan Association of School Business Officials Repeal Act – without amendment.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

- 9. The committee recessed from 3:45 p.m. until 3:48 p.m.
- 10. The committee considered Bill No. 26 The Midwifery Amendment Act, 2008.

The following Health Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses:

Hon. Don McMorris, Minister

Max Hendricks, Assistant Deputy Minister

Donna Magnusson, Executive Director, Primary Health Services Branch

Margaret Baker, Director, Primary Health Services Branch

Andy Churko, Consultant, Primary Health Services Branch

Allan Laird, Legislative Policy Analyst, Policy and Planning Branch

Lauren Black, Assistant to the Deputy Minister

Tyson Martin, Second Assistant to the Deputy Minister

- 11. The questions being put on clauses 1 to 7, they were agreed to.
- 12. It was moved by Ms. Eagles:

That the committee report Bill No. 26 – The Midwifery Amendment Act, 2008 – without amendment.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

13. The committee recessed from 4:01 p.m. until 6:00 p.m.

14. The committee considered Estimates for the Ministry of Advanced Education, Employment and Labour.

The following Advanced Education, Employment and Labour Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses:

Hon. Rob Norris, Minister

Wynne Young, Deputy Minister

Mike Carr, Associate Deputy Minister, Labour, Employee, and Employer Services

Trina Vicq Fallows, Acting Executive Director of Corporate Services

Gail Kruger, Vice-President Prevention, Finance and Information Technology, Worker's Compensation Board

Glennis Bihun, Executive Director, Occupational Health and Safety

Glen McRorie, acting Executive Director, Labour Standards

Doug Forseth, Executive Director, Labour Relations and Mediation

Pat Faulconbridge, Executive Director, Status of Women Office

Mary Ellen Wellsch, Acting Executive Director, Labour Planning and Policy

Margaret Halifax, Director, Office of the Worker's Advocate

- 15. The committee adjourned its consideration of the Estimates for the Ministry of Advanced Education, Employment and Labour.
- 16. The committee recessed from 8:00 p.m. until 8:13 p.m.
- 17. The committee considered Estimates for the Ministry of Social Services.

The following Social Services Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses:

Hon. Donna Harpauer, Minister

Duncan Fisher, Deputy Minister

Bob Wihlidal, Assistant Deputy Minister, Client Services

Darrell Jones, Assistant Deputy Minister, Housing and Central Administration

Shelley Whitehead, Assistant Deputy Minister, Policy

Don Allen, Executive Director, Finance and Property Management Division

Larry Chaykowski, Executive Director, Housing Executive

Lynn Tulloch, Executive Director, Income Assistance Division

Gord Tweed, Associate Executive Director, Income Assistance Division

Andrea Brittin, Executive Director, Child and Family Services

Janice Krumenacker, Director, Post Care Services, Child and Family Services

Jeff Redekop, Acting Executive Director, Community Living Division

Karen Bright, Executive Director, Human Resources Division (PSC)

Trish Alcorn, Director, Communication and Public Education

18. The committee adjourned consideration of the Estimates for the Ministry of Social Services.

19. It was moved by Mr. Ottenbreit:	
That this committee do now adjourn.	
The question being put, it was agreed to.	
20. The committee adjourned at 10:13 p.m. to the	ne call of the Chair.
Viktor Kaczkowski	Glen Hart
Committee Clerk	Committee Chair