STANDING COMMITTEE ON HUMAN SERVICES Thursday, April 17, 2008

MINUTE NO. 5 3:00 p.m. - Room 8

1. **Present**: Mr. Glen Hart in the Chair and Members Doreen Eagles, Judy Junor, Serge LeClerc, and Greg Ottenbreit.

Substituted Members:

Dustin Duncan for Denis Allchurch (evening only)

Deb Higgins for Cam Broten (afternoon only)

Tim MacMillan for Denis Allchurch (consideration of Ministry of Education Estimates and consideration of Bill No. 6)

Laura Ross for Doreen Eagles (consideration of Ministry of Social Services Estimates and Bill No. 5)

Trent Wotherspoon for Judy Junor (consideration of Ministry of Education Estimates)

Kevin Yates for Cam Broten (evening only).

Other Members: Dan D'Autremont, David Forbes, Darryl Hickie, Andy Iwanchuk and Sandra Morin.

2. The committee commenced consideration of the Estimates for the Ministry of Education.

The following Education Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses:

Hon. Ken Krawetz, Minister

Audrey Roadhouse, Deputy Minister

Helen Horsman, Assistant Deputy Minister

Darren McKee, Assistant Deputy Minister

David Tulloch, Director, Financial Planning and Management

Clint Repski, Director, Education Finance and Facilities

Margaret Ball, Director, Education Finance and Facilities

Sue Amundrud, Associate Executive Director, Curriculum and E-Learning

Lois Zelmer, Executive Director, Early Learning and Child Care

Greg Tuer, Director, Public Service Commission

Rosanne Glass, Executive Director, Policy and Evaluation

Shirley Robertson, Acting Executive Director, Policy and Evaluation

- 3. The committee adjourned consideration of the Estimates for the Ministry of Education.
- 4. The committee recessed from 5:02 p.m. until 6:00 p.m.
- 5. The committee commenced consideration of the Estimates for the Ministry of Social Services.

The following Social Services Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses:

Hon. Donna Harpauer, Minister

Duncan Fisher, Deputy Minister

Bob Wihlidal, Assistant Deputy Minister - Client Services

Darrell Jones, Assistant Deputy Minister – Housing and Central Administration Don Allen, Executive Director – Finance and Property Management Division Larry Chaykowski, Executive Director – Housing Executive Lynn Tulloch, Executive Director – Income Assistance Division Gord Tweed, Associate Executive Director – Income Assistance Division Andrea Brittin, Executive Director – Child and Family Services Janice Krumenacker, Director – Post Care Services, Child and Family Services Jeff Redekop, Acting Executive Director – Community Living Division Trish Alcorn, Director – Communication and Public Education

- 6. The committee adjourned consideration of the Estimates for the Ministry of Social Services.
- 7. The committee recessed from 8:01 p.m. until 8:11 p.m.
- 8. The committee considered Bill No. 5 The Public Service Essential Services Act.

The following Advanced Education, Employment and Labour Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses:

Hon. Rob Norris, Minister
Wynne Young, Deputy Minister
Mike Carr, Associate Deputy Minister
Mary Ellen Wellsch, Acting Executive Director of Labour Planning and Policy

- 9. The committee adjourned consideration of Bill No. 5 The Public Service Essential Services Act.
- 10. The committee recessed from 10:10 p.m. until 10:20 p.m.
- 11. The committee considered Bill No. 6 The Trade Union Amendment Act, 2007.

The following Advanced Education, Employment and Labour Minister and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses:

Hon. Rob Norris, Minister
Wynne Young, Deputy Minister
Mike Carr, Associate Deputy Minister
Mary Ellen Wellsch, Acting Executive Director of Labour Planning and Policy

- 12. The committee adjourned consideration of Bill No. 6 The Trade Union Amendment Act, 2007.
- 13. The Committee adjourned at 12:03 a.m. to the call of the Chair.

Viktor Kaczkowski	Glen Hart	
Committee Clerk	Committee Chair	