## STANDING COMMITTEE ON HUMAN SERVICES Tuesday, April 16, 2024

# MINUTE NO. 36 3:30 p.m. — Legislative Chamber

1. **Present**: Alana Ross in the chair and members Jennifer Bowes,\* Meara Conway, Terry Dennis,\* Muhammad Fiaz, Marv Friesen, Warren Kaeding, Travis Keisig,\* and Hugh Nerlien.

#### **Substituting Members**

Jennifer Bowes for Jared Clarke Terry Dennis for Muhammad Fiaz (3:30 p.m. – 4:42 p.m.) Travis Keisig for Hugh Nerlien (3:30 p.m. – 4:30 p.m.)

2. The committee considered the estimates for the Ministry of Advanced Education.

The Minister of Advanced Education and the following officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

#### Witnesses

Hon. Gordon Wyant, Minister
Rebecca Carter, Deputy Minister
David Boehm, Assistant Deputy Minister
Mark Wyatt, Assistant Deputy Minister
Jon Altwasser, Executive Director, Corporate Finance
Mike Pestill, Executive Director, Sector Management and Relations
Duane Rieger, Executive Director, Business Systems and Information
Lindell Veitch, Executive Director, Strategy, Planning and Sector Engagement
Kirk Wosminity, Executive Director, Student and Support Services
Shirley Zhou, Director, International Education and Jurisdictional Initiatives Management

- 3. The committee recessed from 5:16 p.m. until 5:22 p.m.
- 4. The committee resumed consideration of the estimates for the Ministry of Advanced Education.
- 5. The committee adjourned consideration of the estimates for the Ministry of Advanced Education.
- 6. The committee recessed from 6:06 p.m. until 7:00 p.m.
- 7. The committee considered the estimates and supplementary estimates no. 2 for the Ministry of Social Services.

The Minister of Social Services and the following officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

### Witnesses

Hon. Gene Makowsky, Minister
Kimberly Kratzig, Deputy Minister
Tobie Eberhardt, Assistant Deputy Minister, Child and Family Programs
Devon Exner, Assistant Deputy Minister, Income Assistance Programs
Grant Hilsenteger, Assistant Deputy Minister, Finance and Corporate Services
Joel Kilbride, Assistant Deputy Minister, Disability Programs
Louise Michaud, Assistant Deputy Minister, Housing Programs

Sean Burnett, Executive Director, Program and Service Design Erin Kiefer, Executive Director, Finance Roger Parenteau, Executive Director, Housing Operations Kari Paton, Executive Director, Service Delivery Jeff Redekop, Executive Director, Service Delivery Julene Restall, Executive Director, Program and Service Design Sterling Snider, Executive Director, Program and Service Design Mitch Tremblay, Executive Director, Community Services Michelle Houston, Director, Community and Client Services Cheryl Fieger, Executive Assistant to the Deputy Minister

- 8. The committee adjourned consideration of the estimates and supplementary estimates no. 2 for the Ministry of Social Services.
- 9. It was moved by Mr. Friesen:

That this committee do now adjourn.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

10. The committee adjourned at 9:05 p.m. to the call of the Chair.

Anne Drake

Committee Clerk

Alana Ross

Chair