STANDING COMMITTEE ON HUMAN SERVICES Tuesday, April 18, 2023

MINUTE NO. 25 3:30 p.m. — Legislative Chamber

1. **Present**: Terry Jenson in the chair and members Meara Conway, Terry Dennis,* Muhammad Fiaz, Travis Keisig,* Marv Friesen, Joe Hargrave, Warren Kaeding, Hugh Nerlien, and Nicole Sarauer.*

Substituting Members

Terry Dennis for Hugh Nerlien (3:30 p.m. – 4:40 p.m.) Travis Keisig for Joe Hargrave (3:30 p.m. – 4:40 p.m.) Nicole Sarauer for Meara Conway (3:30 p.m. – 6:00 p.m.)

2. The following document was tabled:

Saskatchewan Advocate for Children and Youth: Correspondence re: Bill 101, dated March 15, 2023 (HUS 21-29)

3. The committee considered the estimates for the Ministry of Labour Relations and Workplace Safety.

The Minister of Labour Relations and Workplace Safety and the following officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Ministry of Labour Relations and Workplace Safety Hon. Don Morgan, Minister Greg Tuer, Deputy Minister Sameema Haque, Assistant Deputy Minister Pat Parenteau, Executive Director, Corporate Services Saskatchewan Workers' Compensation Board Phil Germain, Chief Executive Officer Crystal Nett, Chief Financial Officer Julia Lacell, Assistant Director, Legal and Policy Saskatchewan Labour Relations Board Jonathan Swarbrick, Registrar

- 4. The committee adjourned consideration of the estimates for the Ministry of Labour Relations and Workplace Safety.
- 5. The committee recessed from 6:00 p.m. until 6:15 p.m.
- 6. The committee considered the estimates for the Ministry of Social Services.

The Minister of Social Services and the following officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

<u>Witnesses</u> Hon. Gene Makowsky, Minister Kimberly Kratzig, Deputy Minister Tobie Eberhardt, Assistant Deputy Minister, Child and Family Programs Devon Exner, Assistant Deputy Minister, Income Assistance Grant Hilsenteger, Assistant Deputy Minister, Finance and Corporate Services Joel Kilbride, Assistant Deputy Minister, Disability Programs Louise Michaud, Assistant Deputy Minister, Housing; President, Saskatchewan Housing Corporation Sean Burnett, Executive Director, Program and Service Design Erin Kiefer, Executive Director, Finance Bob Martinook, Executive Director, Community Living Service Delivery Roger Parenteau, Executive Director, Housing Operations Kari Paton, Executive Director, Service Delivery Naomi Shanks, Executive Director, Program Support Sterling Snider, Executive Director, Program and Service Design Mitch Tremblay, Executive Director, Community Services Jeff Redekop, Acting Executive Director, Program and Service Design Cheryl Fieger, Executive Assistant to the Deputy Minister

- 7. The committee adjourned consideration of the estimates for the Ministry of Social Services.
- 8. The committee considered Bill No. 101, The Child and Family Services Amendment Act, 2022.

The Minister of Social Services and the following officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

<u>Witnesses</u> Ministry of Social Services Hon. Gene Makowsky, Minister Kimberly Kratzig, Deputy Minister Tobie Eberhardt, Assistant Deputy Minister, Child and Family Programs Janice Colquhoun, Executive Director, Indigenous Services Janna Taylor, Director, Records and Privacy Ministry of Justice Jeffrey Crawford, Senior Crown Counsel

- 9. The committee recessed from 9:20 p.m. until 9:32 p.m.
- 10. The committee resumed consideration of Bill No. 101, *The Child and Family Services Amendment Act, 2022.*
- 11. The committee adjourned consideration of Bill No. 101, *The Child and Family Services Amendment Act, 2022.*
- 12. The committee adjourned at 10:30 p.m. to the call of the Chair.

Terry Jenson Chair