STANDING COMMITTEE ON HUMAN SERVICES Wednesday, April 5, 2023

MINUTE NO. 24 3:30 p.m. — Legislative Chamber

1. **Present**: Terry Jenson in the chair and members Meara Conway, Muhammad Fiaz, Marv Friesen, Daryl Harrison,* Warren Kaeding, Vicki Mowat,* Hugh Nerlien, and Alana Ross.*

Substituting Members

Daryl Harrison for Joe Hargrave (3:30 p.m. – 5:32 p.m.) Vicki Mowat for Meara Conway (5:46 p.m. – 9:15 p.m.) Alana Ross for Marv Friesen (3:57 p.m. – 5:23 p.m.)

2. The committee considered the estimates for the Ministry of Social Services.

The Minister of Social Services and the following officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. Gene Makowsky, Minister

Kimberly Kratzig, Deputy Minister

Tobie Eberhardt, Assistant Deputy Minister, Child and Family Programs

Devon Exner, Assistant Deputy Minister, Income Assistance

Grant Hilsenteger, Assistant Deputy Minister, Finance and Corporate Services

Joel Kilbride, Assistant Deputy Minister, Disability Programs

Louise Michaud, Assistant Deputy Minister, Housing; and President, Saskatchewan Housing Corporation

Sean Burnett, Executive Director, Program and Service Design

Erin Kiefer, Executive Director, Finance

Roger Parenteau, Executive Director, Housing Operations

Kari Paton, Executive Director, Service Delivery

Naomi Shanks, Executive Director, Program Support

Sterling Snider, Executive Director, Program and Service Design

Mitch Tremblay, Executive Director, Community Services

Jeff Redekop, Acting Executive Director, Program and Service Design

Cheryl Fieger, Executive Assistant to the Deputy Minister

- 3. The committee adjourned consideration of the estimates for the Ministry of Social Services.
- 4. The committee recessed from 5:34 p.m. until 5:46 p.m.
- 5. The committee considered the estimates and supplementary estimates no. 2 for the Ministry of Health.

The following ministers and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Ministry of Health

Hon. Paul Merriman, Minister of Health

Hon. Everett Hindley, Minister of Mental Health and Addictions, Seniors, and Rural and Remote Health

Tracey Smith, Deputy Minister

Rebecca Carter, Assistant Deputy Minister

Greg Gettle, Assistant Deputy Minister

Ingrid Kirby, Assistant Deputy Minister

Norman O'Neill, Assistant Deputy Minister

Sheldon Brandt, Executive Director, Strategy and Innovation

Tami Denomie, Executive Director, Partnerships, Privacy and Legislative Services

Raelynn Douglas, Executive Director, Drug Plan and Extended Benefits

Monica Field, Executive Director, Health Informatics

Brad Havervold, Executive Director, Community Care

Melissa Kimens, Executive Director, Connected Care Services

Deborah Moynes-Keshen, Executive Director, Health Human Resources

James Turner, Executive Director, Medical Services

Joy Vanstone, Executive Director, Financial Services

Jillian Code, Acting Executive Director, Population Health

Chris Rhinelander, Acting Director, Hospital and Specialized Services

Cameron Symon, Executive Assistant to the Deputy Minister

Saskatchewan Health Authority

Andrew Will, Chief Executive Officer

eHealth Saskatchewan

Davin Church, Chief Executive Officer

Saskatchewan Cancer Agency

Kevin Wilson, Vice-President, Population Health, Quality and Research

6. The following document was tabled:

CUPE Local 5430 Provincial Workload/Occupational Health and Safety Committee: Report of 2022 Formal Complaints

(HUS 20-29)

- 7. The committee adjourned consideration of the estimates and supplementary estimates no. 2 for the Ministry of Health.
- 8. The committee considered Bill No. 120, *The Miscellaneous Statutes (Health Professions) Amendment Act. 2022.*

The following ministers and official appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. Paul Merriman, Minister of Health

Hon. Everett Hindley, Minister of Mental Health and Addictions, Seniors, and Rural and Remote Health

Tracey Smith, Deputy Minister

- 9. The questions being put on clauses 1-1 to 25-1, they were agreed to.
- 10. The questions being put on schedules 1 to 5, they were agreed to.
- 11. It was moved by Mr. Nerlien:

That the committee report Bill No. 120, *The Miscellaneous Statutes (Health Professions) Amendment Act*, 2022 without amendment.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

That this committee do now adjourn.		
The question being put, it was agreed to.		
13. The committee adjourned at 9:15 p.m. to the call of the Chair.		
Danielle Humble-Selinger		Terry Jenson
Committee Clerk	3	Chair

12. It was moved by Mr. Hargrave: